We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Musty and outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Grand Prairie
Nolanville, United States
1 review
“Musty and outdated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Parking was not well-defined. We parked directly in front of the hotel in the better lit parking lot and had to move our car, because that one belonged to the IHOP. The hallways smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. room very musty. Loud air-conditioner and leaky faucets

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khalid Y, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Christine W,
I'm so sorry for your poor experience this week at the our hotel. Please be assured I will be discussing your comments with our management team to work on immediate improvements. We take pride in providing the best in lodging and service so our lapses during your stay are being taken very seriously. I would be delighted to be of assistance in this matter if you would like to contact me. Again, on behalf of the staff and management - I offer our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    66
    81
    55
    48
See reviews for
78
37
27
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was my second stay at this property and I couldn't have been more satisfied. The staff is very friendly and warm. From the front desk to the breakfast hostess they were just outstanding. Although the hotel is a bit old, it's very well maintained and I would would highly recommend it. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Fahd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

No shuttle service at all except to and from airport. Very inconvenient considering the hotels location. Also was charged for internet multiple times. Hotel took away my access to my room so I would be forced to go to the front desk to pay for my (complimentary) internet access.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khalid Y, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Elizabeth M
I really appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize that your stay was not to your satisfaction.
Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please stay with us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.
We have two internet options one complimentary the other one is the premium internet which should you opt to use, will incur a charge. There is no charge for the complimentary internet.
We value yiur business. Please give us another try whenever you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Hampton's are normally really nice ....not this one. The maids were ok. The staff was awful. The shuttle would only pick you up from the airport only and only one time. If you are trying to make a flight call a cab. Charged us for Internet. Overall I would not come back. Worst Hampton experience I have had ever!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texaslove5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary O, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Texaslove5
Thank you for posting a review of your most recent stay with us. I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience with us. We do take all of our reviews into consideration in an effort to better our property. At this property like in all Hampton Inn hotels, we offer a complimentary internet service to our guests. There is also a premium internet service that should you opt to use instead, will incur a charge. That system however alerts you to the fact that you are going to be charged and then proceeds to ask if you agree to the terms. We always tell our guests about these two internet options at check in. Our airport schuttle goes to the airport from the hotel ,every hour on the hour from 6am to 11 pm. From the airport to the hotel the schuttle runs on requests, once the guests are at the airport. These runs also run from 6 am to 11 pm. We hope that you'll give us another chance and stay with us again the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West End, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at another hotel chain that offered a discount to us because of the company for which he works, but we decided to stay at the Hampton Inn because we thought that it was a nicer hotel chain. We had stayed at one in Kansas City and thoroughly enjoyed it.
We were really disappointed. The room was small, and it didn't have a fridge or a microwave in it. My husband got the cleaning help to bring us a fridge. We had bought some food to have in our room and didn't have any place to keep it cool.

The comforters on the bed were all lumpy too. Apparently they had been washed and the filling inside was balling up inside of the lining. When we walked into the room, the beds looked like they had big bumps all over them! very strange. The shower also had very poor water pressure.

The elevator also smelled like cigarettes.

Anyway, we won't be staying there again anytime soon. Not worth the $100 a night for sure.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fourth floor. It was quiet. The first floor was undergoing some renovations, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

smelly, shower was not working properly, low water pressure. will not recommend this place. had noisy neighbors kept slamming the doors, talked loud and screamed. the only good thing was the breakfast. could not take a shower properly as the water pressure was very low

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Omid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary O, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hello Omid E.
We apologize for the quality of services you received during your recent stay. We have reported the water pressure issue in your guest suite to our maintenance team, and we are also addressing it with the City Of Grand Prairie water department. We are also working with our staff to freshen guest rooms and address the noise disruptions. We apologize that this was not addressed sooner and hope you will consider staying with us at again the next time you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Very good service, but the hotel smells cigarette, expired food and horrible cleaning products. the hotel has not been touched since it was build and there is nothing around it. They will not drive you anywhere...sorry, this hotel should not have the name hampton

Room Tip: try to go on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tc2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary O, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Askto2121
Thank you so much for your feedback. It is with feedback like yiur that we can better sell our product and services. Like you saw during your stay with us, we are currently under renovations. We are currently replacing the wall paper on the hallways, we will also be replacing the carpet on the hallways and also in our guest rooms.
I hope you will come back and stay with us once we complete these renovations.
As always we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Prairie
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Arlington North Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Dallas/North Arlington/Grand Prairie
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 22 in Grand Prairie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Grand Prairie North
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Arlington
3.0 mi away
Blue Cypress Hotel
Blue Cypress Hotel
#15 of 62 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Address: 2050 N State Highway 360, Grand Prairie, TX 75050-1423 (Formerly Hampton Inn Dallas-Arlington-DFW-Six Flags)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Grand Prairie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Grand Prairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites Dallas-Arlington-DFW-Six Flags is perfectly situated near popular attractions like Hurricane Harbor, Globe Life Park and AT&T Stadium (formerly Cowboys Stadium). After a busy day relax and enjoy world-class service, complimentary WiFi, a business center, our refreshing pool and free hot breakfast daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Dallas/Arlington (Six Flags) Hotel Grand Prairie
Hampton Inn Dallas/Arlington (6 Flags)
Hampton Inn Grand Prairie
Grand Prairie Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing