We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beef in Granbury”

Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House
Ranked #13 of 110 Restaurants in Granbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Description: Hoffbrau Steaks was voted "one of Dallas' Best Chicken Fried Steak" by D Magazine. We are a family owned steak house, rustic and casual with a unique Texas atmosphere. We now proudly serve Premium Black Angus beef and an wide-ranging menu of chicken fried steaks, chicken, ribs, seafood, salads and burgers. We keep it Salt & Pepper Simple and make everything from scratch with love. Daily lunch specials are delicious and affordable. Large TV's are perfect for watching sports in our great bar. Come sample our extensive list of local, national and international beers in our fun bar. We love to cater for weddings, birthdays and office parties. Happy Hour is served from 4pm to 7pm Monday through Friday. Our quaint little town of Granbury is also home to the Granbury Opera House, built in the 1800's. Early to-mid 1800's German settlers, who helped develop the Hill Country of South Texas, also recreated their beloved "hoffbraus"or "beer gardens" where local townspeople, farmers and ranchers gathered to enjoy hearty meals and brewed beverages in a setting that was naturally casual yet humming with conversations and warm friendly service. What began as a "Hoffbrau" in South Texas truly was the origin of the Texas Hill Country Steakhouse... A tradition that our family has continued since opening Hoffbrau Steaks in 1978. Enjoy yourselves, our Texas hospitality... The great steaks and foods for which we are known. Many thanks, The Fogiel Family
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our reservation was taken earlier in the week by an employee that was misinformed about their reservation policy. They only take reservations 1 hour in advance. The manager was apologetic and helped us find a table right away. Lauren, our server was terrific. Her advice was dead on from what to order and how they should cook it. The homemade potato chips were amazing, not greasy, crispy, flavorful, and not too salty. The ranch dip served with them was yummy. The jalepeno bbq shrimp were very good and pretty spicy. They don't remove the seeds. The salad was fresh and tasty, love their house dressing. My husband thought the blue cheese dressing was good too. I cook alot...4-5 hours a day for my family. Food is extremely important to me so I guess I am pretty picky about quality of ingredients, seasonings, and how something is prepared. Saying that, the bone in ribeye was excellent. Not overly salted and cooked to my liking. The restaurant has a friendly atmosphere and lots of families were there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Jlange36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for writing such a nice review. We are thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed your experience, especially since you are such a big cook, this review is extra complimentary. We hope to have you back for more STeaks 'n SMiles very soon. Best, Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 161 of 232 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a good dining experience here. The steaks were decent; the service was great. The décor is creative--screen doors on the ceiling makes it a pretty memorable place.

2  Thank TrishaHMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Trisha,
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience at Hoffbrau Steaks and also like our decor. We hope you see you back in Granbury soon. Best wished, Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

They sell beer from the local brewery, Revolver, which I appreciated. I loved the food, had a beer that I liked, excellent service, very attentive and knowledgeable waitress. Of course, there are often turn-overs in the staffing, but I got the impression that they will all be well-trained and friendly.

2  Thank revmsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

We are thrilled you enjoyed our food and the Revolver beer. We do like to support our local friends. We hope you come back soon. Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I think I've tried every place in town that serves steak, and Hoffbrau is by far my favorite.
You can count on it being consistently good quality steak that's well seasoned and tastes great.
And if by chance a tough one gets by them, they are the best I've ever seen at making it right.
I wish their choices of vegetables was a little better. But I go there for the steak, so as long as there's a baked potato and a salad to go with it, I'm fine.

4  Thank Tick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Tick
We appreciate the very nice review and would love to hear more about what sides you would like to see? We do love Guest feedback and thank you for taking the time to let us know. Best,
Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks
rfogiel@hoffbrausteaks.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Six of us ate here on a Thursday evening. Fun, rustic decor. Screen doors on the ceiling was a first for me, but neat idea! Everything we had was good: fried pickles, salad, rolls, sweet potato, steamed spinach, sirloin steaks, peach cobbler, etc. Our steaks were cooked a little more than we wanted, but no worries for us. Our waitress was great and took good care of us It was a busy night for them. Would definitely go back if we're in Granbury again or if we run across another Hoffbrau's somewhere else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Hi Teresa,
We appreciate you taking the time to review us and we do hope you come see us again when back from Virginia. I envy your cooler weather. Safe travels. Rainey Fogiel, Owner, Hoffbrau Steaks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House also viewed

 

Been to Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing