We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“expected more” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House

Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House
Ranked #11 of 102 Restaurants in Granbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hoffbrau Steaks was voted "one of Dallas' Best Chicken Fried Steak" by D Magazine. We are a family owned steak house, rustic and casual with a unique Texas atmosphere. We serve USDA aged choice beef and an wide-ranging menu of chicken, quail, ribs, seafood, salads and burgers. We keep it Salt & Pepper Simple and make everything from scratch with love. Daily lunch specials are delicious and affordable. Large TV's are perfect for watching sports in our great bar. Come sample our extensive list of local, national and international beers in our fun bar. We love to cater for weddings, birthdays and office parties. Happy Hour is served from 3PM to 6PM Monday through Friday. Our quaint little town of Granbury is also home to the Granbury Opera House, built in the 1800's. Early to-mid 1800's German settlers, who helped develop the Hill Country of South Texas, also recreated their beloved "hoffbraus"or "beer gardens" where local townspeople, farmers and ranchers gathered to enjoy hearty meals and brewed beverages in a setting that was naturally casual yet humming with conversations and warm friendly service. What began as a "Hoffbrau" in South Texas truly was the origin of the Texas Hill Country Steakhouse... A tradition that our family has continued since opening Hoffbrau Steaks in 1978. Enjoy yourselves, our Texas hospitality... The great steaks and foods for which we are known. Many thanks, The Fogiel Family
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited for the first time a few weeks ago. I was really looking forward to it, but I wasn't that impressed. The recommendation of the squash puppies was a good one. Yum yum jalapeno jelly! Then we got the Texas Two Step--two sirloin steaks with onion strings and salad. But the steaks were delivered while we were eating our salads, and our server came by to tell us "your steaks will keep cooking on the hot platter." Duh! Why did you bring them when we were still on our salads? And the steaks were a bit chewy. And my side of mac and cheese was decent, not memorable. But! We will give them another try with one of the other cuts of meat. I love a good steak!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank winemaven79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    76
    23
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Early supper.....excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Went with my wife and son for a early supper on a Friday evening. We were seated almost immediately and the waitress was waiting for us. The squash poppers were very good as an appetizer. The hamburgers were perfect and my son's chicken fried steak (lunch portio) was in his words "very good." High praise from him. The service ws excellent and we will be back soon.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Stdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Boiled Ribeye?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We ate here for the seconf time yesterday. The first time, I was impressed, but that was about a year ago. I ordered the lunch Ribeye, with salad & baked potato. Salad was good. Baked potato was not as hot as I'd have liked. I had to ask for butter as it was so dry, even with the sour cream & butter they had already loaded it with. It had a good flavor, but just not that hot. Now to the Ribeye... it was about as thick as paper. It had grill marks on it, but the color of the meat was gray. I like a steak charred. It looked "wet". There was some kind of spices all over it & on the plate, it was tender enough, but it was so salty, I couldn't stand it. It looked as if it had been charred on the grate, then droped in liquid & boiled til it was done. GROSS. I tried a few more bites, but gave up. It was terrible. The server didn't even ask how it was, he just asked if I wanted a 'to go' box. I did, as we have wild Foxes in our pasture that we feed.

My husband ordered a cheeeburger with fies & he was satified. I won't go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
12 Thank SRVFAN4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas/Fort Worth
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Normal Hoffbrau Quality..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I don't say that to be demeaning...Hoffbrau is always great! This one is no different...good service, great food, killer beer list...good location..what more could you want??

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Divinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainey f, Owner at Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We appreciate your kind comments re: our Hoffbrau Steaks and hope to see you back soon.
Best, Rainey Fogiel, Hoffbrau Steaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, TX
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not impressed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a long wait just to be seated and then another long wait just to order. Another LONG wait to actually get our food and several things were forgotten. No one ever came back around to ask if we wanted more tea or needed anything else. The food wasn't bad, when we finally got it. Will not be returning.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank Elesa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hoffbrau Steak & Grill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing