We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Hole in the Wall Place”
Review of Rib Shack

Rib Shack
Ranked #27 of 107 Restaurants in Granbury
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Plano, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cute Hole in the Wall Place”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The place does look like a shack and was easy to find! We could smell the delicious BBQ from the parking lot. We went on a Friday at lunch time and it was busy, but not too crowded. The decor is very cute and I liked the ole time fireplace. The food was quite tasty....I had the chopped beef plate with corn & pickles and my husband had the ribs. The meat was dry so you need to put a lot of sauce on there. But it was good. The pickles "Pig-les" are delicious. Not too hot but just enough of a kick. I bought a jar to take home and was told they ship them all over the country. The co-owner was so sweet....we had told her we were in town for our anniversary and she made us a complimentary yummy bowl of banana pudding....oh my...it was so good! If we are in the area again, we will definitely return to the Rib Shack!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fall off the bone ribs”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We only had rib plates so can't comment on other meats. We couldn't keep the meat on the bones! Compared to some ribs, they might be a bit dry, but I think it's because you add your own sauce. I loved, loved, loved them. Good price too at $8.95 for 1/2 pound and 2 sides. Potato salad good, but other sides just okay. You order at the counter and everything is self-serve and a little slow. Atmosphere - not much. But it's cool, comfortable enough and friendly. Will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank preironic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“JonathAn”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I used to live in Stephenville, and I am a big fan of Hard 8 BBQ. This BBQ is better. It's a little bit slow, and the tables are crowded, but the food is great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Jonathan6513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“cool friendly place”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Shack-y place with better than average BBQ. The ribs are quite good. Sides are average unfortunately.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank DallasLonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Found the ribs over-cooked and the pickles nothing exceptional”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Down on the farm looking tin shack with amazing smells coming out of it! Great ambiance runed by tables full of trays and used plates, glasses and silverware. Had the largest rib plate, (about 3/4 of a rack of baby backs) at a very reasonable price ($12). Found the rib meat well smoked, and tasty but too dry, all the fat had been cooked out of the ribs. The meat fell off the bone but the BBQ sauce needs some flavor to make up for the dry meat. The special sweet and hot pickles were nothing special, sort of bland at first then just hot, no sweet to savory taste. Sweet tea was good. Took a long time to get the food considering all that had to be done was dish it up. Never saw anyone come from behind the counter to check on the rest of the house, the several tables piled with the remains of other diners sort of spoiled the very good decoration and ambiance.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank JMcEwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rib Shack also viewed

 

Been to Rib Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing