We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty fish tacos, shrimp boil, and $2 schooners!”

Stumpy's Lakeside Grill
Ranked #6 of 105 Restaurants in Granbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
dallas12345
Level Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasty fish tacos, shrimp boil, and $2 schooners!”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We are visiting Granbury this weekend and were drawn to Stumpy's by the other reviews.

Believe the hype! My wife split her order of tacos to include two shrimp and one fish. I removed the jalapeño to hopefully avoid heartburn and tried the fish one. The fish was piping hot, crisp (not mushy at all), and spicy enough.

The shrimp boil lived up to its reviews, too. The shrimp was hot, spicy and cooked perfectly. The potatoes emerged from the boil with very mild seasoning and could have used a bit more kick.

The restaurant was busy tonight, which probably explains the delays we observed in getting food out and tables bussed. The free self-serve chips kept hunger at bay for some customers. The chance to enjoy an inexpensive schooner at an outdoor table with a view of the marina kept me content while waiting for our meal.

I recommend Stumpy's!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank dallas12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    79
    24
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granbury TX
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Lakeside dining with great Shrimp Tacos”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

WE live in Granbury and love to eat the Shrimp Tacos at Stumpys. And on Tuesdays they are all $2 each. A bargain for great Tacos. A large selection too. Cannot miss at this place. Nice lakeside grill feel to it.

The Marina next door also has great lake wear and goods. Cool place. You can rent boats and Jet Skis there. Fun place.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank fototexGranburyTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I'd recommend this place to most people”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I was traveling with my mom and my 5 and 7 year old for spring break. Prices were decent (kids happened to be free with adult purchase the night we went). I had fish tacos because they were highly recommended in reviews. They were pretty good. I have tried those at several places and make them frequently myself, so I already have favorite fish taco dishes that I am comparing them too. They were definately fresh and I was ready for something that wasn't BBQ or fried when we went. Mom had chicken sandwhich and she really liked it. Kids meals were a good size and they enjoyed being able to sit outside by the water while we ate. It is a decent sized place and has a separate bar area with TVs. You order at a bar when you walk in and don't have a waitress. Nice condiment bar.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank catapocalypse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Yummy onion rings”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stopped for lunch and it was great! It's actually in the Granbury Marina so watch for that sign. The Stumpy Grill sign is small. It's a place for the whole family and enjoyed sitting near the water. Food was good and facilities were clean!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Momoftwo711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good Food! Great bartenders!”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I enjoyed this Restaurant and my kids love it there they like to go out on the patio and feed the ducks by the marina. We all enjoy the food and the service is great! would go all the time!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stumpy's Lakeside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing