We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Granbury
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Granbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Wow, I have never in my life ever checked into a hotel and demanded a refund in a 2-hour time frame! What a horrible experience. We left and drove home that very night! If you choose to stay at this hotel, please be aware that if you use the pool area that the management allows children to do "cannon balls" in the pool. So if you are looking for a tranquil swim, you may want to choose another hotel. (Yes, it is noted in the pool rules, that there is "no diving", but "cannon balls" are OK) Really!!! You have to ask yourself, why would this be allowed when you are indoors and the pool is only approx. 12 ft. x 20 ft. Even after contacting management, who did not seem concerned...I will definitely choose another hotel chain (No Hilton's for me if this is how they run their properties) in the future. (You've heard the phrase "shame on me once"...well, with all of the other hotel chains out there, I will definitely go out of my way to book with another chain of hotels...I won't need a second time to give this chain of hotels a second chance".

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rlhasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Granbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 619 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2010

I give the hotel and town of Granbury an A+. Staff was so friendly and accomodating. The food delicious, service incredilbe and I never felt rushed. The atomosphere cozy with all facilities that I needed and very clean! The town is in walking distance and so adorable and quaint. This location and hotel was exactly what I was looking for and filled with more surprises than expected like the private beach area. The boardwalk is lovely with soft music playing from the old fashioned lamp posts. I would most certainly go back again and feel proud to share the wonderful experience. I met people from all over the world. There were non-guests who came to eat at the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner because of the good food, service and company! I highly recommend the Hilton Garden Inn in Granbury Texas!

Sincerely,
Cathy Ryan-O'Connell

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenie2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

My husband had a room in Granbury for a few days on business, and me and the kids were able to tag along. This is the second year we've done this, at this same Hilton, and I'll give input on both times we've stayed.

August 2009 - The first time I stayed, we had major problems. The hotel was pretty new, so maybe that's the issue, but every time I tried to get into our room with the card, my card would never work. I was tugging along a 1yr and 3yr old, so it was a big hassle to get locked out of the room. We went to the front desk and had both mine and my husbands cards reissued and while my husband was in business meetings, I was locked out of the room again because my card wouldn't work. We just shared a card after that.
The next day, I took the kids down for breakfast and I had assumed "continental breakfast" meant complimentary, but there was an itty-bitty sign on one of the walls that said it cost. I had already made both of the kids a plate, so while I was certainly irritated, I just bit my tongue. I got our check and went to pay, but the lady told me that she wasn't going to charge babies to eat, although she was very snotty when she said it. I wasn't complaining in the least and was fully prepared to pay for both kids, since I didn't take the time to ask if breakfast was included, so I felt the attitude she gave was uncalled for. I wasn't asking for freebies (especially if they're so grudgingly given).

August 2010- No problems. I can't say that anything was above average, but it was a nice stay. Rooms were clean, the hotel is next to the public beach and down the street from historic downtown Granbury, so it was nice. We didn't eat at the buffet, and I was pleased to see that they had redone the former breakfast area so that it now looked like a restaurant and I don't think anyone would get a wrong impression on the non-free food. No problems with our room cards this time either. I'm much happier with the hotel, although we didn't pay for our stay, so I may be biased. It's a great location, but not necessarily luxury living.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesseangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGranbury, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Granbury, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2010

Thank you for your response. We are always searching for ways to enhance the overall guest experience and we certainly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The parking lot was empty so thinking the hotel was far from full I asked the guy at the front desk for a lake view. He told me he could not change my room because I made the reservation online. I asked why that was and I was told due to a price difference. I asked how much the price difference was. He then said it does not matter the computer will not let me change rooms no matter what the price. I thought about protesting but I had the strange feeling he might be a member of some kind of christian militia.

When I got to the room I tried running some business reports. It was taking forever so I checked the internet speed. It was running at a whopping 1 meg. Well at least I had a hot shower. Oh wait there was no hot water.

On the positive side. I must say I had a great view of an empty parking lot.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwilsonDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

The Hilton was a great experience! I stayed there for business. I traveled alone and they made me feel extremely welcome. I stayed there on my second night of travel and wish I stayed there both nights! Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, extremely friendly service, and clean amenities! I would recommend this to my friends. I had a great stay. My experience was definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdo245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGranbury, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Granbury, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2010

Thanks for the great review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you choose to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Location - Excellent not far town & man made beach is very close
Room- jr suite is very good and modern with nice lake views.
Staff- most of them friendly and professional
Breakfast- standard, nothing to write home
Nice hotel to take a break !

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIGranbury, Hotel Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Granbury, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2010

Thank you for the great feedback and glad to know you enjoyed your stay. The beach is a big attraction here! Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

I was relieved to know that a Hilton had opened in Granbury and made reservations about 1.5 months prior to visit. We had requested a "lake view". Upon checkin (3pm) we arrived to a semi empty parking lot and when asked about the "lake view" the staffer laughed and said, "all those filled up like two weeks ago". (refer to my first statements about when I made reservations). The room was nice due to it being so new but, we noticed that the walls were quite thin. The WORST part of our stay was the bed! I am a big fan of down bedding, but, it felt like a 500+ pound person had slept on our bed and had worn down the outline of his body on the bed! I felt like my chest area was in a ravine and my hips were at the top of the hill with another decline in elevation toward my feet! the pillow was about a wide at the bed so this would mean as your body rises out of the ravine, you head is stretched to reach the pillow! (I hope that makes sense) Woke up with a HUGE headache!!!! I travel with a small fan and earplugs which I would recommend for anybody that ignores this warning and stays at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Granbury hotels
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Granbury
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Granbury
1.1 mi away
Best Western Grandbury Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Granbury
Comfort Suites Granbury
#5 of 13 in Granbury
123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plantation Inn Granbury
Plantation Inn Granbury
#8 of 13 in Granbury
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nutt House Historic Hotel
Nutt House Historic Hotel
#7 of 13 in Granbury
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Granbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Granbury

Address: 635 Pearl Street, Granbury, TX 76048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Granbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Granbury
Price Range: $113 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Granbury 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Granbury hotel overlooks the lake and is located within walking distance from downtown Granbury and a swimming beach. The Great American Grill® serves up a hot cooked-to-order breakfast each morning and hearty American dishes for dinner and evening room service. Enjoy complimentary high-speed internet. The hotel is adjacent to the convention center that has 8,000 square feet of meeting space. Utilize the complimentary 24-hour business center and WiFi. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, and adjustable beds. Rejuvenate in the indoor pool and whirlpool, or work out in the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Granbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Granbury Hotel Granbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing