We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Regency Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gonzales
Certificate of Excellence
New Caney, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed over night and was greatly impressed Chelsea the receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful rooms recently renovated and the breakfast is the best I've had in a hotel in a long time. I stay in hotels a lot due to the oilfield and I wish I had jobs closer to here

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal5555, General Manager at Best Western Regency Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
How pleasant it was to read your review Mr. Johnson. You mentioned that you frequently stay in hotels, so it means a lot that you would take the time to compliment us. That tells us that we are reaching our goal to give a great quality room & service to our guest. Cheslea will be thrilled to know that she was able to give you the customer service you deserve. If your work or anything ever brings you back to our area, we hope that you will let us accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
18
1
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Dallas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Good, nice-sized room (w/ King); Quiet; Breakfast (there were issues w/ waffle dispenser) ok. Area is one of the "frac" centers of S Central Texas, so was heavily populated w/ oilfield personnel (but it was quite comfortable).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal5555, General Manager at Best Western Regency Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hello Mr. Gaines,
How kind of you to take the time to publicly compliment your stay with us. We are very pleased to know that we have provided you with a comfortable stay. We do look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Best Western in Gonzales, TX, was exceptional!! The room was spotless and sound-proofed so there was no traffic noise. The breakfast burritos for the complimentary breakfast were the best I've had in years! ...and the other selections looked great also. The complimentary wine or beer each evening put the stay over the top!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal5555, Manager at Best Western Regency Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you Carl!!! It is always so nice to receive a review such as yours. I'm so pleased that you chose to stay with us for your family reunion. I know you travelled a long way from your own home. So, it was our pleasure to provide you with a clean & quiet room to relax & rejuvenate for your event. I do look forward to seeing you again for your next reunion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We enjoyed the room & service during our stay for a special event featured in Gonzales yearly. It is entitled "Come & Take It", referring to the war between the Texans and the Mexicans for the Independence of the Republic of Texas. We plan on staying at this Best Western every year for the event.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal5555, General Manager at Best Western Regency Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Mary, your generous comments are greatly appreciated!
How wonderful that you enjoyed the yearly "Come & Take It" event. Gonzales is a beautiful historical town. I am so pleased that you plan to return each year. We do look forward to seeing & serving you again & again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, TX
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a king suite for one night, while attending a family reunion near Hochheim. Like most hotels all over south Texas, be aware that over 90% of the hotel is long-term booked by oil field workers in the Eagle Ford shale formation boom. Most work 12-hour rotating shifts so there's a lot of them leaving for work around 5 to 5:50 am and a lot returning about an hour later, and the parking lot usually has many large trucks. But they were all respectful and quiet while we were there. Probably too tired to party.

Also be aware that rates, like all the other south Texas hotels during this oil boom, are much higher than they normally are in these average accommodations in these small towns.

Our suite was roomy and very clean, and the bed was very comfortable... soft, the way we like it. The room was newly painted and the carpet was clean and in good condition. In fact, the whole hotel seemed to have been recently refurbished, so it looked nice and clean. There seemed to be a larger maintenance staff and grounds crew than is usual for an average franchise-hotel like this one (likely due to the very good revenue brought in by the oil workers) and everything seemed to function well as a result.

The hotel is single-story, with all outside doors. Parking in the center. Typical non-chain layout. Appears to have been originally one of those family independent hotels that has joined the Best Western franchises. It's located on a highway spur on the northeast edge of town, not within safe walking of distance of anything except the adjacent Mexican restaurant.

Front desk staff and maintenance staff were very helpful, friendly, and professional. They seemed eager to go out of their way to help.

Breakfast was very well provisioned and had a wide range of offerings, including breakfast burritos from a nearby Mexican restaurant. But be aware that the incoming night-shift oil field workers emptied all of those before 7 am. However, to our amazement, the staff offered to have more delivered from the Mexican restaurant.

There were two disappointments, one quite minor and one not so minor. The minor one was that, although the air conditioner in our room worked very well (quiet too) the suite was divided into an office/sitting area and bedroom by a partial “wall”, actually more cosmetic than a real wall. But the partition was just enough to make the sitting room very cold in order to move enough cool air back to the bedroom to be comfortable back there. It was 100 deg F outdoors daytime. But it was minor since it was easily managed.

The second disappointment was much bigger to us. We'd counted on cooling off in the pool, but it was closed for the weekend for maintenance, re-plastering, and chemical re-balancing. It is VERY difficult to understand how and why proper planning wouldn't have scheduled that for completion well before the start of summer. It's mid-June! 100 deg F! We expressed that disappointment to management, who seemed genuinely distressed about it as us.

Would we stay here again? At a better rate... you betcha!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xplorers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal5555, Manager at Best Western Regency Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
What an extraordinary review! You have echoed much of what we explain on a daily basis, regarding the Oil Boom in our area, & how it has affected the hotel market. The consideration & thoughtfulness you put into this review is very pleasing. I do greatly apologize for the timing on our pool replastering. We hope that you will return & enjoy swimming on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Friendly staff. Greeted with a beer and bottle of water. The most comfortable beds! Great internet connection. Breakfast had great selections...get up early and have a fresh breakfast burrito delivered from a local place.

Room Tip: Was just a stop on the highway that turned into a great stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shinylotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal5555, Front Office Manager at Best Western Regency Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
It was such a pleasure to have you as our guest.
On behalf of all of Best Western Regency Inn & Suites staff, "Thank you."
We appreciate that you have taken time to leave such wonderful compliments.
We do hope to see you again on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We initially visited Gonzales in search of Texas history... I love the old courthouses, my husband enjoys the old drinking establishments that are typically found on the courthouse squares. (Both by the way, were well worth the visit to Gonazles.) I booked a room at Best Western Regency Inn & Suites not expecting much, hoping for a clean bed and warm shower. From the road, the property appears to be a basic, older Best Western. Don't be fooled! Rooms have been spruced up with a small sitting area, flat screen TV, comfortable bedding, nice linens, and updated bath. Staff was welcoming and helpful... from check in to check out. Breakfast included breakfast tacos! Small but well kept outdoor pool, plenty of parking. Would DEFINITELY stay here again.

Room Tip: Caution... this inn books up quickly particularly on week nights... may have something to do with Ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyceD18703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal5555, Front Office Manager at Best Western Regency Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your trip to Gonzales. You are our top priority & we strive to provide a comfortable room & a friendly atmosphere for each & every guest. It would be our pleasure to see you again on your next visit to Gonzales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gonzales hotels
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gonzales
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 12 in Gonzales
43 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Dilworth Inn & Suites
The Dilworth Inn & Suites
#1 of 12 in Gonzales
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Gonzales
Days Inn & Suites Gonzales
#5 of 12 in Gonzales
55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alcalde Hotel & Grill
Alcalde Hotel & Grill
#8 of 12 in Gonzales
16 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gonzales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Regency Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Regency Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Regency Inn & Suites
Address: 1811 E Sarah Dewitt Dr, Gonzales, TX 78629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Gonzales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Gonzales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Regency Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gonzales, Texas, the home of corporate offices for Tyson Foods, Southern Clay, Adams Extract and Gonzales Manufacturing. Come for business, but during your stay, we offer interesting historical sights, several Sam Houston sites, the Memorial Museum and the Pioneer Village Living History Center. If you want to 'kick back', we have golfing, camping and picnic sites close by, or just to relax, enjoy our oversized guest rooms and our beautiful swimming pool. Whether for business or pleasure, the BEST WESTERN Regency Inn & Suites is in the middle of it all. Come and see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Regency Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gonzales
Gonzales Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing