We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy Authentic BBQ”

Gonzales Food Market
Ranked #7 of 39 Restaurants in Gonzales
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of top BBQ in all of Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy Authentic BBQ”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were visiting Gonzales for a Cross Country meet and asked for the best bbq in town. We were told to head over to the Market. I am so glad that we did. I thoroughly enjoyed my spicy sausage, which is made fresh in the store daily I might add! The brisket was also delicious! My husband had the beef ribs and also ate the spicy sausage with pinto beans and potato salad. We left very full and very happy. The food is fresh, reasonably priced and the owner of the restaurant is one of the nicest, most down to earth person that I have ever met in my life. I have lived in Texas my entire life and also lived in Lockhart so I have had my share of BBQ.... Dont skip this place! Take a day trip. You wont regret it :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetiredCoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
195 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Was in Gonzales conducting some business and took three customers to eat lunch, one suggested Gonzales Food Market. I've eaten BBQ all over Texas and while the BBQ was not bad it was nothing special. The selection off meats was decent as were the sides, the serving line was manned by a staff that acted like they would rather be someplace else. I will say the cost was reasonable as four of us ate for $50.00. Drive the 18 miles to Luling and get BBQ there at City Market, better all around.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Lamb Ribs”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Get here before noon to beat the lunch rush. Had the lamb ribs and they were good. Liked the cole slaw but not the sweet potatoes - they had no flavor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SportUtilityGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good bbq”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

good bbq chicken and ribs, nice people great price wish I lived closer! on the main square of town great place to stop

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
428 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Amazing lamb ribs and sausage”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

In Gonzales, your food choices are somewhat slim, but luckily there is this BBQ gem right in downtown. The décor is more run down grocery store - but the food is so good you won't care. It was pretty busy and people were ordering all kinds of stuff off the menu, but my family only ordered two things - the lamb ribs and sausage. I love BBQ and have never seen a place serve lamb ribs before and I was not disappointed. They had a great char yet the meat was moist and very flavorful. The sausage came in a small link and was packed with flavor. The sides were pretty average and the only reason I didn't give this place 5 stars - otherwise we would go back in a second.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gonzales Food Market also viewed

 

Been to Gonzales Food Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing