We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable!”
Review of Rough Creek Lodge

Rough Creek Lodge
Ranked #12 of 45 Restaurants in Glen Rose
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
190 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Memorable!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at the lodge and the package included dinner and breakfast. I'm not a fan of 'fine dining' with snooty wait staff and food that's really not that good. However, Rough Creek was so different. The restaurant interior was very impressive with a nice view of the lake along wiith prime western music which fit in so well. More impressive was the Texas style friendly and attentive service. After those first impressions it was a tall order for the food to equal what we had experienced so far, but it came through with more rating stars than are available. I must say that dinner was an unforgettable experience, only topped by breakfast the next morning!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AvianQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Rose, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“pricey resort”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This has excellent audiovisual capabilities for presentations, but is very expensive. The restaurant charges equivalent to the priciest restaurants in Fort Worth without matching the same quality. It has excellent facilities and guides with dogs for bird hunting (pheasant, chakar, quail) They have been pen raised and are reluctant to fly, since the policy is "if it flies, it dies". A helipad is available, and Presidents have stayed there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rose, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have hunted Birds here and am very acquainted with all the amenties. Great Food, Adult Beverages, etc.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank FINBARtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rose, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is an unusual place to find way out there in the country but it is certainly worth the drive. Great food. Hotel is also first rate.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Genny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable food and service, but...”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We enjoyed one of the top 5 meals we've ever had in Texas with THE best service hands down. However, we really struggle with the $75/ person plus 21% automatic gratuity given the effort it takes to reach the location. The dining room was empty - and now we know why.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rough Creek Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Rough Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing