We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCEPTIONAL PRODUCTION”

The Promise in Glen Rose
Ranked #5 of 16 things to do in Glen Rose
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Promise begins on the banks of the Paluxy River in historic Glen Rose, Texas. In the opening scene, a grandfather and his grandchildren, Billy and Lisa, explore the woods and riverbed in search of the dinosaur tracks that have made Somervell County a popular destination for visitors. As the sun sets, they stumble across an old campsite that reminds Grandpa of a story his own grandfather used to tell him in the same spot--the one about the Promise sent by God.As Grandpa begins to sing about the Promised One, the three find themselves among the Old Testament prophets who foretold the coming of Jesus. Immediately, Grandpa, Billy, and Lisa are swept up in the events of Jesus' birth, baptism, temptation, and ministry.Based on Scripture and incorporating the music of award-winning contemporary Christian artists, The Promise brings a modern touch to the most amazing story ever told. Audiences experience a smiling, approachable Jesus who reaches out to people and changes lives. With its sweeping musical score, live animals, and a cast and crew of more than 150 dedicated Christian artists, The Promise is truly the experience of a lifetime.The Promise is performed annually at Texas Amphitheatre--the largest permanent outdoor theatre in the state. With its Greco-Roman design and 3,200 seating capacity, this state-of-the-art facility is unexpectedly intimate, making it the perfect place to experience The Promise.Many features of the Texas Amphitheatre help communicate the story in a modern way--a water-filled moat, rain curtain, lighting truss with 600+ instruments, digital sound system, and more. Audiences truly have an extraordinary experience at The Promise in Glen Rose, Texas.The story of Jesus is timeless. But the season is not. The Promise will be performed Friday and Saturday evenings annually during the months of April & May, and September & October.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
854 reviews
225 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“EXCEPTIONAL PRODUCTION”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have wanted to go to this since I heard about it several years ago. I finally was able to and I was not disappointed. What a talented group of people and flawless production. The stage, props, scenery, costumes and production were exceptional.
A very moving, entertaining and interesting performance. Put this at the top of your list for MUST SEE! Even though it was Sept. and HOT there was a gentle breeze that helped make it more bearable and the performances kept you enthralled mostly not even thinking of the temperature.
There was a good crowd there and it was hard to believe this has been around for almost 25 years and I was just getting to see it. I hope it stays around much longer for others to enjoy and share. KUDOS to all involved in this event and thank you for allowing others to share it. I heard that the county residents get in free which is nice with the down economy but maybe they would be willing to pay say half price if need be to keep this show going longer. It would be such a shame to let this stop with the fabulous set-up and the fine tuning that is obvious from years of producing this show.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LAH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePromiseGlenRose, Manager at The Promise in Glen Rose, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for coming to celebrate the 25th season of The Promise, and taking the time to share your experience with others! We are so blessed to have patrons like you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and went to see The Promise a couple of years ago. The talent of the actors was terrific. The music was great. Having animals in the play was a really cool too. A near full moon rose nearly directly behind the stage and made the show perfect. We will go again this fall. Go see The Promise, you won't be sorry.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePromiseGlenRose, Manager at The Promise in Glen Rose, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for coming to The Promise, and taking the time to share your experience with others! We are so blessed to have patrons like you! We hope you will return this year to celebrate 25 seasons with us! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rose, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A MUST SEE!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

So proud that this show is here in Glen Rose! The story of Christ's life is portrayed like you've never seen before in an outdoor amphitheater, complete with music and live animals! We attend this production several times a season! 2013 is its 25th year! Shows run Friday & Saturday evenings, Sept-Oct every year. I can't wait to see it again!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DianenAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePromiseGlenRose, Manager at The Promise in Glen Rose, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your fabulous review! We are so thankful to all who come out and share our performances with us! We look forward to seeing you and your family this season as we celebrate 25 seasons of The Promise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rose, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“2013 will be 25 years!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The music and production was so real! The story is old and the ministry is till the end of time. You will never tire of seeing the Promise. I know a lady who goes nearly every weekend the whole season! The singing and speaking is live with recorded background music! I personally enjoy the abundance of animals incorporated into the production on stage!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StoneHutFosilShop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePromiseGlenRose, Manager at The Promise in Glen Rose, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We appreciate your support and we are looking forward to seeing you at our 25th season celebration this fall! God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must See!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wonderful stage production. Very well done. We spent the day in Granbury, went to dinner in the square and headed to the The Promise after dinner (early)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank micheleneric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePromiseGlenRose, Manager at The Promise in Glen Rose, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for coming to see The Promise, and taking the time to share your experience with others! We are so blessed to have patrons like you! We look forward to seeing you again in the fall to celebrate 25 years of The Promise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Promise in Glen Rose also viewed

 

Been to The Promise in Glen Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing