We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Trap”
Review of Dinosaur World

Dinosaur World
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Glen Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

High priced tickets for what you get. We were hoping to be able to touch and take pictures with the Dinosaurs, but they were roped off. Must avoid during the heat of Summer, because little to no shade, no rest areas or drink stations.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    85
    48
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It is educational and great for any age children. The shop had a lot of things for the kids and parents. The dig for Dinosaur bones is a great adventure for the children. The path is paved and is excellent for handicap too. We were able to get some great pictures with my nephew to where it looks like the life size Dinosaurs are chasing him. Really awesome place to visits.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank canthony2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelsfeld
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“OK for children”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited the dinosaur park in early August 2013 on a very hot day. Its at least a 2 hour drive southwest from Dallas on Hwy 67. There is plenty of free parking, and an air conditioned store and museum, which provides much needed relief from the blistering Texas sun. The dinosaurs are in static display (no moving parts), with a description of each animal. There is very little shade throughout the tour path, so its best to lather up with sunscreen. We took the children because of their interest in dinosaurs, but I was not impressed by the park. In McKinney, TX (at the crossing of Hwy 75 and 121) there was a temporary active display (moving parts and sounds) of life size dinosaurs in the summer of 2012, which was far more interesting and entertaining to the kids. A far better attraction than the Dinosaur Park, in Glen Rose, is the Fossil Rim Wildlife Center (which I'd highly recommend) just about 3 miles up the road on Hwy 67.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bavarianride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Avoid. It's just a tourist trap with cheap toys in an overly large gift shop and a walk through dinosaur replicas made of fiberglass. Not worth your dollars.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatrickErvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“How many Dinosaurs can you name?”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I can't believe there were that many different kinds of dinosaurs when you only see the same ones over and over. Photographers would have a great time, I got some amazing pics!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mydonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur World also viewed

 

Been to Dinosaur World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing