We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Big Rocks Park

Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Glen Rose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Park on the Paluxy River.
Harper, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is our 2nd trip over to Glen Rose and we enjoy this area so very much. The Big Rock Park is really a neat place. You can climb on the rocks and explore in-between. After you get tired & hot go for a walk or dip in the river. The river is running very nice this year. Also, have a beautiful area to walk along the river after you walk across the now completed damn. The park area up from the damn has a playground. It's a treasure for Glen Rose and the only thing that disappoints me is the trash that people leave behind. Plenty of trash cans, but still folks drop their trash on the ground or in the river. The kids would love this place and the water didn't appear too deep for the little ones.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ctb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    87
    21
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Big Rocks Park Rocks”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I love stopping at this wonderful park right on the main road (highway 144) through Glen Rose, Texas. The park is free. Good walking shoes are necessary to fully enjoy the park.

There are picnic tables at the street level of the park where I have eaten a sack lunch on previous visits.

The park is full of of giant rocks that are great for climbing/hiking. They have interesting shapes. Some of the huge rocks look like prehistoric animals, turtles, or space ships.

When I tire of hiking the stone surfaces, I like to just sit peacefully on a big rock to feel the breeze, the sun, and enjoy the beautiful outdoor scenery. There are wildflowers around the edges of the park and a river on one side of the park.

It is a wonderful place to visit whether you have 10 minutes or several hours.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Franksmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Free!!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Awesom place to visit, you can walk out on the rocks or swim in the river.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Crickett1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rose, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We visit here All the time”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Great place to take you significant other or the whole family! We usually take our two schnauzers with us. They love the outdoors and many visitors bring their animals as well. I do however recommend going earlier in the morning because it tends to get quite full throughout the day. Also there is a Great Snow Cone place located right next to this park. We usually end our family outing at this place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank AjwGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“BIG big rocks”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Beautiful setting, perfect for hot summer days. Bring your suits and lunch and spend the entire day!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigfishLittlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Rocks Park also viewed

 

Been to Big Rocks Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing