We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in the country”
Review of Rough Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Rose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rough Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2006

Great place, even better staff. 5 star all the way.

2  Thank Cubeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 318 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, TX
26
Reviewed January 3, 2006

We'd heard a lot about Rough Creek from friends who had visited. We only stayed one night, but we had a relaxing stay.

In a nutshell:

Rooms - Very nice, excellent bathrooms, great porches overlooking the water

Food - OK, not great. Felt very let down by the food.

Activities - A lot to do - fishing, hiking, biking, golf driving range, tennis

Location - easy drive from Dallas or surrounding cities

Price - WAY overpriced & a lot of hidden fees...when we asked for an itemized bill - they claimed "they weren't able to print that kind of bill"...hmmm, very interesting!

Overall - a great place to go for the night but not any longer!

Stayed: October 2005
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2005

This place surpassed any place I have ever visited! Top notch staff, luxurious accommodations - well worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 841cathyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Texas
12
Reviewed September 10, 2005

I stayed in the new cabin in the woods. It was fabulous! Great quite spot among some pretty spectacular old oak trees. Deer were everywhere. The Cabin is a little more rustic than the main lodge but very comfortable with sleeping for at least 5. A nice screen porch, hammock & built in BBQ. There is also a loft area where the kids can hang out and play. From what I understand there are 3 more cabins under construction and the newer ones will have fireplaces. If you like to fish, swim, ride 4 wheelers, shoot skeet and ride bikes in the country you will love this as much as we did! Oh, I did not even mention the restaurant! WOW! great food, great service and the kids can even order off the adult menu for 1/2 price. Although you can't beat the cheezy pizza from the kids menu!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2005

Stayed here over spring break 2005 with the family (2 kids). I am probably biased because they upgraded our room for no reason. Very relaxing time. Great room. Great Staff. Nice pool and EXTREMELY quiet surroundings (at the edge of nowhere). There is plenty to do if you enjoy outdoor activities. 4-wheeling, bike rides, tennis, paint ball, shooting range, etc. (all this in our case mostly for the kids - while wife and I relaxed). Food was great. Very pricey (best to go during the week). We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NomadDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2005

The Rough Creek Lodge was recently named "the best lodge in North America - 2005" by Conde Nast Johansens and the title is well-deserved. About the only thing rough about a trip to the Lodge is the access roads off Highway 67. My firm took a short retreat to the Lodge and had a great time. It is a great place to relax or partake in outdoor activities such as skeet shooting, riding ATVs, hunting, fishing. etc. The Lodge also features a fairly nice driving range. The rooms and the restaurant were outstanding. I did not check out the pool or the spa.

The Lodge seems to be very popular for corporate retreats but I would also recommend this place to couples for a quick getaway from DFW, a guy's weekend, or a meeting place for friends. It is about a 2 hour drive from DFW and it is fairly expensive, although they do offer packages.

  • Stayed: May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank D.B.1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2004

I don't want to be picky, but at these prices, I really don't expect to find peeling paint, dusty table tops, only two skimpy bath towels and crickets in my closet!

We were similarly unimpressed with the restaurant. The food is presented beautifully but was curiously flavorless.

Maybe the new owners will look into the maintenance issues and find better sources for fresh food?

9  Thank DallasElmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Rose
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
12.7 mi away
Best Western Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
13.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
13.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Glen Rose
93 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Granbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rough Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rough Creek Lodge

Address: 5165 County Road 2013, Glen Rose, TX 76043
Location: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Price Range: $225 - $2,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rough Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury suitelodge sits on 11,000 acres of scenic countryside.No matter what your individual style, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort is a “have-it-all” place for our “want-it-all” guests.Rough Creek Lodge , Resort and Dallas Conference Center is nestled on 11,000 acres in the foothills of the picturesque Texas Hill Country. Located 90 minutes southwest of Dallas Fort Worth, Texas, our exquisite grounds boast 51 stylish guestrooms and suites, 4 exclusive cabins, and 3 opulent guest houses. Our lodge is finely decorated with sophisticated fabric, furniture and artwork to create a feel of rustic elegance for our guests.If you are coming to take advantage of our Conference Center, you won’t be disappointed. The Executive Conference Center integrates state-of-the-art technology in a comfortable setting fostering industrious and flourishing meetings. Rough Creek’s world class Conference Center is host to the latest in audio visual equipment, ergonomically designed chairs, and continuous refreshments and service making our four meeting facilities the best Dallas Fort Worth has to offer.We pride ourselves in offering the best Texas family vacations created amidst the splendor of legendary Texas Hill Country. Take advantage of our scenic horseback rides, Kawasaki Mule rides or our family recreation pool for our adventurous guests, or if it’s relaxation you’re looking for you might like to spend an afternoon next to our spa swimming pool overlooking Mallard Lake. From fire pits and s’mores to fine dining and outdoor sports, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort provides a magnificent escape for your family getaway.Here at Rough Creek Lodge, we appreciate the joys of Texas hunting, and Rough Creek Lodge and Resort can accommodate your hunting and fishing desires. Rough Creek’s Fishing and Hunting has everything to offer; this is full service hunting at its paramount. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rough Creek Hotel Glen Rose
Rough Creek Resort
Rough Creek Lodge Glen Rose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing