We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step into the country, 5 star style”
Review of Rough Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glen Rose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rough Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I am a city guy with a city wife and two city kids. A weekend at RCL is exactly what you need to relax. We go 3-4 times a year and even joined their club (extra benefits, discounts, etc.). The staff is ALL about customer service on a personal side. They are only second to Disney in our minds on customer service and making it a true experience. Great food, exciting activities, and relaxing environment

Room Tip: Joining club gets you upgrades to suites! Great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 318 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Love Rough Creek! I say best 5 star camping because it is out in the middle of nowhere but awesome amenities! We stayed in The Coyote which is a cabin on the property. It was so quaint! Lots of beds to bring your family too. It was so quiet and had a great porch with rocking chairs, hammock and picnic table. The bed was very comfortable. The pool was realxing and the good was awesome! The restaurant is 5 star and had probably some of the best meals ever! A little pricey but worth it! Most of all the staff is top notch! It was the best service I have ever had and comparing to Four Seasons, W and Ritz! We are definitely going back! Also, if you like shooting guns checkout Craft International Thecraft.com they offer shooting courses for all levels.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelsnob22Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We recommend Rough Creek to all our family and friends. Rough Creek provides a unique experience, kids love it, fun for the whole family, more activities than you can fit into one week, and food is amazing! Stay there every summer and loved the experience as always.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Rough Creek Lodge offers fresh, delicious breakfasts, haute-cuisine dinners with complimentary wine list, chic country western decor, beautiful rooms, and an array of amenities that will please the hunters, the children, and those seeking peace. The intimate size of the lodge guarantees a peaceful atmosphere, superb service, and no waiting time for zip lining, hunting, archery, fishing, etc... The staff are very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. This small resort should be listed in the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World" index. Overall, a wonderful place to get away from it all!

Room Tip: If you want to avoid spiders and cratered beds, do not choose Arrowhead or Bobcat cabins, but stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadySojourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Rough Creek is absolutely wonderful, and I would give it a 10 on everything! It is beautiful, the food is deliclious, and the service is awesome. The entire staff is so friendly, pleaseant, and helpful. There are so many fun activities. We took our 4 grandchildren, and we all had a great time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Overall, our stay at Rough Creek was outstanding. It was everything we hoped it would be and more. We had to reschedule a couple of times due to family conflicts but it was well worth the wait. Because of this, I rank our stay and Rough Creek - as a whole - a 10! The fact that you were very accommodating with our own personal issues was a huge relief. The service/staff was exceptional everywhere. Each employee, from the cleaning service to management truly seemed to love their job and they were empowered to make decisions that made our stay enjoyable and special. This one night stay was fairly expensive for us, but I believe that it was worth every penny!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved this place! From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. The room was incredible! Huge bathroom and bedroom area, incredibly comfortable bed, and large windows and balcony overlooking the lake. The food at the resort was excellent. The jalapeno bread is to die for!! Service was excellent. We relaxed at the Adult Only pool during the afternoon, and fished in the evening. There was so much to do! We will definitely be bringing the kids back next year. Thanks for such a wonderdul experience. We cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Rose
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
12.7 mi away
Best Western Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
13.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
23.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Granbury
Comfort Suites Granbury
#4 of 13 in Granbury
126 reviews
23.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Granbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rough Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rough Creek Lodge

Address: 5165 County Road 2013, Glen Rose, TX 76043
Location: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Glen Rose
Price Range: $225 - $2,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rough Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury suitelodge sits on 11,000 acres of scenic countryside.No matter what your individual style, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort is a “have-it-all” place for our “want-it-all” guests.Rough Creek Lodge , Resort and Dallas Conference Center is nestled on 11,000 acres in the foothills of the picturesque Texas Hill Country. Located 90 minutes southwest of Dallas Fort Worth, Texas, our exquisite grounds boast 51 stylish guestrooms and suites, 4 exclusive cabins, and 3 opulent guest houses. Our lodge is finely decorated with sophisticated fabric, furniture and artwork to create a feel of rustic elegance for our guests.If you are coming to take advantage of our Conference Center, you won’t be disappointed. The Executive Conference Center integrates state-of-the-art technology in a comfortable setting fostering industrious and flourishing meetings. Rough Creek’s world class Conference Center is host to the latest in audio visual equipment, ergonomically designed chairs, and continuous refreshments and service making our four meeting facilities the best Dallas Fort Worth has to offer.We pride ourselves in offering the best Texas family vacations created amidst the splendor of legendary Texas Hill Country. Take advantage of our scenic horseback rides, Kawasaki Mule rides or our family recreation pool for our adventurous guests, or if it’s relaxation you’re looking for you might like to spend an afternoon next to our spa swimming pool overlooking Mallard Lake. From fire pits and s’mores to fine dining and outdoor sports, Rough Creek Lodge and Resort provides a magnificent escape for your family getaway.Here at Rough Creek Lodge, we appreciate the joys of Texas hunting, and Rough Creek Lodge and Resort can accommodate your hunting and fishing desires. Rough Creek’s Fishing and Hunting has everything to offer; this is full service hunting at its paramount. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rough Creek Hotel Glen Rose
Rough Creek Resort
Rough Creek Lodge Glen Rose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing