We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charlotte's Web Lives!!”
Review of Country Woods Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Woods Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Glen Rose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2008

STAY HERE, but be informed. This is by far the most kid-friendlist BnB we have visited. We stayed in the Railcar, which for the novelty alone was worth it. It was decorated wonderfully to add to the ambiance. Books and movies were provided. The bunks were adequate for a weekend with plenty of pillows and blankets.They could use some WD40 though. It did get a little chilly and I assume may get a little warm certain times of year. Remember, this is ONE room, so no privacy. It had a small fridge for snacks and drinks, a small stove and microwave but we ate out. (Anderson's in the square and Ranch House, both good). The 'cabin in the woods' is literally right next door, so you are not secluded. We had a little visitor (a mouse) but you are on a farm, so make sure you keep your snacks in the fridge. We enjoyed the trails, but do not attempt to go up the hill if you are not prepared to slide back down, it is steep. Take a walking stick. The kids could have spent the whole time in the barnyard. They enjoyed feeding and petting and playing. We used the campfire (bring your own stuff) for s'mores. The breakfast in the barn was suprisingly WITHOUT smell, and the horse will come right up to the window for a carrot, the kids loved this, unfortunately she NIPS. They said she was sick. I didn't pay attention to the 'continental' part, so I was really disappointed that breakfast was a toast myself bagel. It IS kid-friendly; apples, granola bars, cereal, etc. I just wish I had read it thoroughly. The swimming hole is not on property but is a walk right next door, at Big Rock Park. This is public, so may get crowded and has a strong current in some areas, but was fun. Overall, a great time and lots of memories for the kids. We visited Fossil Rim (great yet pricey) and were unable to view the Dinosaur tracks (if this is in your plan, call before you go, rain covers the tracks). A great family weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Where2nowB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 132 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2008

I just had to write and tell you what a wonderful time we had at your place. We have traveled the entire country, staying at Bed and breakfasts all over the United States and I have never had as much fun or felt as comfortable as I did at your place. We slept like babies and wondered at the stars in the sky. I havent seen stars like that since I was little.
Since we live in Dallas, you can be assured that we will be back again and again.
I had a very good time reading about all the restoration work you have done to the buildings. I commend and admire your hard work having done some restoration myself. God bless those who preserve our Texas heritage with so much energy and commitment.
Be seeing you soon,
Brian and Linda Allen
Garland, TX

Stayed: February 2008
Thank bfallen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2007

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossjames1699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HH19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Alvin TX
11
Reviewed June 28, 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Service
3  Thank rangie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2006

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fort Worth, TX
12
Reviewed December 17, 2005

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Rose
0.7 mi away
Best Western Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn on the River
Inn on the River
#1 of 6 in Glen Rose
132 reviews
14.3 mi away
Granbury Gardens Bed And Breakfast
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Woods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Woods Inn

Address: 420 Grand Ave, Glen Rose, TX 76043-5325
Location: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Rose
Price Range: $112 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Woods Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an adventure! Secluded cabins, century old guesthouses, Main Lodge, even a restored Santa Fe Railroad Car or an authentic Airstream Land Yacht. 40 wooded acres on the Paluxy River with a river walk to the historic downtown square. Minutes from Fossil Rim, Dinosaur State Park, Dinosaur World and The Promise, this Award Winning inn is the perfect setting for Family Reunions, Church Retreats and Weddings in the breathtaking Chapel in the Woods! 45 minutes from Fort Worth/Dallas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Woods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Woods Hotel Glen Rose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing