We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED Country Woods Inn!!!!”
Review of Country Woods Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Woods Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Glen Rose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were 3 generations and everyone had a great time!!
Animals and exploring, cooking out, walks along the river, sleeping cool and comfrotable in a "living museum" - fun for all!! Beautiful, relaxing, exceeded our expectations - we look forward to going again!

Room Tip: We rented the Prairie House - both wings - and glad we did to have 2 bathrooms and enjoy all the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEBORAH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 134 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

The last time we visited Country Woods Inn (2008), my oldest was 3 and I was pregnant w/ #2 and we had a blast. This time we have three kiddos (7, 3 1/2 & 21 mos.) and I cannot think of a better place to stay for a mini-cation. The kids loved walking around and visiting with, petting and feeding the animals. The play area is rustic - old school, but no less fun, especially the tire swing and lemonade stand. Radio Flyer wagons parked nearby and though marked for firewood, provided a great way to tote kids around. We stayed in the North Wing of the Prairie House as another guest did and, though, it was a bit tight, we were not uncomfortable. The two bedrooms were more space than the Saddlehouse, where we'd stayed previously, and were so carefully and thoughtfully decorated. The kids loved sliding down the little waterfall in the river, catching lightening bugs and breakfast in the barn. This place reminded me of stays at the Cataloochee Ranch in Maggie Valley, NC where my parents took my sister and I when we were children: making friends with other kids, eating together, going on long trail walks, picking wildflowers with my mom - all memories I treasure. And now, my husband and I get to make memories with our kids! I have recommended CWI to all my friends as a relaxing and delightful place to stay when visiting Glen Rose or Granbury.

Room Tip: Saddlehouse was great when we just had one little one - one room. With more children, Prairie House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommatowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

stayed in the main house, loved it. Our party was large enough to take up the whole house so we had plety of room. The main table was awsome made of thick pine lumber and could seat everyone. Beds were very soft with fether comforters. plenty of little cuby holes of stuff and great games for the kids. I wish the breakfast was a little better. No meat or eggs offered.

Room Tip: stay in the main house if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiefsrule4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We just returned from an extended weekend "kidcation" which is what we call our family vacations that are centered solely around the kids, all 4 of them (ages 15 months to 8 years). We've been to Glen Rose on several previous occasions but have never stayed for an entire weekend. We chose to stay at the Country Woods Inn because of its location and great reviews. When we called we specifically gave the number of children and the ages and we were given the "north" side of one of their houses. It was a 2 bed room with a small kitchen (just like the description read). When we arrived the premises were very clean, yard well kept and we were greeted by one of the horses. We came up to our cute weekend residence and walked in. After the initial shock of just how tight our quarters were, we made it our goal to ensure the kids had a great time. The cabin was a 2 bedroom that just did fit the full size bed with some walk room around them and the kitchen was the size of a small closet. We brought our pack n play and it fit beside the "master" bedroom bed. The cabin was very clean and surprisingly was well stocked with coffee, utensils, cooking essentials. Though the bathroom was small and I could not stand in tub to shower, it was very clean. Thank goodness the weather was perfect for outside time as we spent 80% of our weekend playing there. We only used the cabin for sleep. There were a lot of outdoor activities that we enjoyed including feeding the animals, tether ball, croquet, volleyball, tree swings, see-saw, kick ball, football, and a toddler play area. However, I was quite disappointed by how run-down all the games and play ground were. Nonetheless, we all had a good time and that was our goal. The staff were very courteous and checked on us from time to time. The breakfast on day one was poor but the waffles on day 2 made up for it. Access to the river was unbeatable, great proximity to the downtown (< 5 minute drive), and the best perk (from the kids' report) was being able to interact/feed the animals at any time (at no extra cost).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wacoans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1947helen, Owner at Country Woods Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

All our cabins have 2 beds. We usually recommend getting an adjoining unit for families of 6 or more, but many families like to stay together and we certainly don't charge for extra people. Our apologies for not giving you a heads up on the size.Thank you for the playground alert, as we have replaced the tether balls and croquet mallets that were broken. Memorial Day was an unusually busy weekend this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I can't say enough good things about the CWI, My whole family loved it..The animals were so sweet. Helen was such a wonderful person and the whole staff was so great! I could go on and on. The cabin was breath taking, the river was so lovely. every thing about this place made me feel alive! I really can't wait to come back again! My friends from California are even flying in again next year because they loved it so much! Thank you Helen. This trip was perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at Country Woods Inn during the week and were extremely surprised at the experience and fun involved! We had two small kids that absolutely loved being able to just run around and interact with the animals whenever they wanted. We hiked the trial, played in the river and just had a blast. Cooked out at night and had a campfire. What more could a family trip ask for. The actual accomodations were wonderful and very unique. Attention to detail was great. My husband and look forward to coming back on own to relax!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Brought 4 kids (5 - 13 years old) to the Santa Fe rail car. We were a little leery of how we would occupy our time, as well as how we'd 'fit' into the accomodations. Going mostly off of TripAdvisor ratings, we booked on faith. The website, as noted in other reviews, does this place little justice. From the moment we pulled in, the kids were in heaven. Friendly barnyard animals greet you near the entrance, fully stocked spors equipment lockers promise to fill activity needs, and tether ball takes you back to the early eighties. The rail car's AC didn't work when we arrived, but one call to Helen and it was very quickly remedied.

The proximity to the river, the hiking trails, the square, fishing, the dinosaur sites, etc. are perfect. But we somehow spent more time playing checkers and tether ball, and swimming in the river than anything. We were a little disappointed that the rail car location doesn't allow camp fires or grilling, but we understood the need for fire safety that close to the woods. If that's a major consideration for you, then book a cabin closer to the barn. The very positive upside to the rail car is being all alone - so that can be looked at either way.

In sum, we were never even close to bored (except that perfect 'relaxed, swinging in a hammock under the trees' type of boredom), and the kids can't wait for our return trip.

One request to Helen: For our next visit - note that we're already planning it :-) - we'd love to have firewood and some roasting sticks for hot dogs and marshmallows near the campfire circles.

Room Tip: Call Helen for advice on which cabin/house to book. She's very honest and wants to make your tri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glen Rose hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Inn on the River
Inn on the River
#1 of 6 in Glen Rose
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Live Oak B&B
Live Oak B&B
#4 of 8 in Glen Rose
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Woods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Woods Inn

Address: 420 Grand Ave, Glen Rose, TX 76043-5325
Location: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Rose
Price Range: $112 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Woods Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an adventure! Secluded cabins, century old guesthouses, Main Lodge, even a restored Santa Fe Railroad Car or an authentic Airstream Land Yacht. 40 wooded acres on the Paluxy River with a river walk to the historic downtown square. Minutes from Fossil Rim, Dinosaur State Park, Dinosaur World and The Promise, this Award Winning inn is the perfect setting for Family Reunions, Church Retreats and Weddings in the breathtaking Chapel in the Woods! 45 minutes from Fort Worth/Dallas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Woods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Woods Hotel Glen Rose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing