We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Step Back In Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn on the River
Ranked #1 of 6 Glen Rose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Step Back In Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I just returned from Inn on the River. WONDERFUL!!! It was the MOST relaxing trip ever! Inn on the River has a fantastic restaurant! All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds were lovely, with plenty of places to kick back and chill, with a lovely glass of iced tea...coffee...soft drink. Just PERFECT! Room made me feel as if I'd stepped back in time. It was lovely! I so enjoyed looking out the window, and watching the birds. We had a massage, and it was the best I've ever had! Perfect place to enjoy Dinosaur Valley, or Fossil Rim, lots of quaint restaurants around. Homemade cookies in the afternoon just topped off our stay! Can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: We were upstairs...it was nice and quiet. We were in a corner room, room 23. I would stay in ANY r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley R, Owner at Inn on the River, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
How pleased we are that you two had such a positive experience at the Inn. Thank you for your comments about your massage. We do have some wonderful therapist that work with us. It's always a nice compliment to one's stay. Look forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
69
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We did a Girl's Weekend for 6 moms. We found the Inn to be a beautiful place with outdoor sitting areas and open grounds down by the river. The girl's weekend package included a Margarita night in the little building by the river. We hung on the porch, drank Margaritas and enjoyed fruit and crackers and enjoyed our beautiful views of the river one evening. It was quiet and wonderful.

The Inn Keepers were excellent. They accommodated our needs, made changes to beds etc. when we asked, set up a game table for us and more. We enjoyed chatting with them as well. Everything was ready when we needed it. The property was well maintained and nice. It was originally built in the early 1900's and thus has interesting history to it and character. While many updates have been made, it is still an older building with traditional baths, wood floors etc. Our rooms were not large, but accomodated us well.

Glenrose is a nice little town with a few shops on the square, nice walking paths by the river, Fossil Rim close by and only 25 min. from Granbury square if you want more shopping. We highly recommend lunch at the Storiebook Cafe. The fun and spunky owner and novel menu make it a fun place to eat at.

We've gone on trips to different places for four years. We all voted to go back here again next year! It was a nice combination of having everything taken care of for you, unique dining experiences and a quiet serene environment as well as several options of things to do when we wanted to be active.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley R, Manager at Inn on the River, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank You! Thank You! Thank You! For your awesome review of Inn On The River. We are so pleased that your experience was so positive and that you plan to join us in the future.....We look forward to seeing all you girls again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We enjoyed our stay and would recommended the inn to friends. Clean and comfortable room, great breakfast, and excellent location for walking to the river, restaurants and to the town square. The group meeting building has the best deck and river view, so recommend visiting when there is no group there.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kriss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley R, Owner at Inn on the River, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We do appreciate you being a guest of Inn On The River and for your nice comments. We look forward to having you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

My 4 sisters and I celebrated a birthday at the Inn.
The entire experience was awesome. The setting by the Paluxy River is serene. The rooms & public areas are beautiful. The staff is gracious and helpful.

I look forward to returning to the Inn, and I've already recommended it to many friends.

Room Tip: There is no Fitness center. This website calls that 'terrible'. I say - go down by the Pal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley R, Owner at Inn on the River, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are so pleased that your Sister/Birthday weekend was a success at the Inn. We truly appreciate your business and hope you join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Room 1 with a wonderful sitting room and private entry to the backyard garden. Joy, the Inn Keeper was so nice and accommodating. We had the 4-course dinner, that was superb. And breakfast both days was great. What a relaxing atmosphere, with lovely grounds. We will definitely return!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DQBinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley R, Owner at Inn on the River, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments. We do appreciate you being our guest and we get to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have stayed at the In on the River three times and have always found the inn to be spotless. The rooms are spotless though some of them are quite small. The breakfasts are marvelous and the optional three course dinner on the weekends is as good as it gets.
Not a place for children though. More the anniversary or honeymoon type place

Room Tip: When making a reservation ask for one of the larger ones, it will though cost more
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank themanPasadenaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley R, Owner at Inn on the River, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive comments and we are so pleased that your weekend at Inn On The River was pleasant. You are right about some of our rooms being rather small, but unfortunately Historical properties don't always provide you with extra space...We just hope the charm will make up for it. Thank you again for being our guest and do hope we have an opportunity to serve you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Inn has several beautifully decorated rooms with comfortable furnishings. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. The garden and grounds offer several places to relax outside and enjoy quiet surroundings. The dinner and service were excellent. We will be returning!

Room Tip: We looked at several available rooms since we arrived early and didn't find one that we wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley R, Owner at Inn on the River, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We're so pleased that you had such a positive experience at Inn On The River. We do appreciate your comments and look forward to you joining us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Rose
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Glen Rose
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Comanche Peak
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Glen Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Valley Inn & Suites
14.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Granbury
0.6 mi away
Country Woods Inn
Country Woods Inn
#2 of 6 in Glen Rose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the River

Property: Inn on the River
Address: 205 SW Barnard St, P.O. Box 1417, Glen Rose, TX 76043-4814
Location: United States > Texas > Glen Rose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn, which is designated a Texas Historical Landmark, is elegantly furnished to provide the ultimate in comfort. No two rooms are alike, but each is tastefully decorated with an antique armoire, fine linens, a feather bed and a goose-down comforter. All rooms have a private bath. The price of the room includes a full breakfast in our dining room overlooking the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing