We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giraffes in pen for months???”

Fossil Rim Wildlife Center
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Glen Rose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fossil Rim Wildlife Center is where Africa comes to Texas. Our 1,800-acre preserve holds a 9.5 mile scenic drive where you can interact with over 1,100 rare and endangered animals roaming free in their herds. Stay in your car, reserve your spot on a guided tour, or even spend a night at our Safari Camp or Lodge to see over 50 different species of wild animals including cheetahs, wolves, giraffes, rhinos and more. The delicious food at The Overlook Cafe is paired with an incredible view overlooking the park and our gift shop offers souvenirs to take home to family and friends. While Fossil Rim is sure to provide a unique experience and exciting adventure, we are dedicated to the conservation of species on the brink of extinction. Fossil Rim conducts scientific research, trains professionals, responsibly manages our natural resources and is committed to public education. We are a not-for-profit breeding center dedicated to the recovery of species in the wild and we invite you to join us in our efforts. Grab your camera and head this way for the scenic wildlife drive you won't forget. Located in Glen Rose, Texas, we are just 52 miles SW of Fort Worth and well worth a visit for people of all ages!
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Giraffes in pen for months???”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have been several times and every time the giraffes have been out. When we pulled up and they were all penned up I called to see when they would be out so we could pull over and wait. The lady on the phone was extremely short with me and said they are penned up for months at a time and when I asked which months she said she didn't know. I have searched their website and can't find an explanation. There is a car sitting and watching the area...we saw it on our first pass and then after the gift shop/petting area. It would be nice if they would at least explain when you call and ask or post a notice so we understand why. The giraffes are the highlight and I think guests should be informed. Very disappointed kids!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank crz2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    172
    46
    11
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edelsfeld
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Spectacular Live Animal Park”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited this park after a disappointing visit to the dinosaur park just down the road. At Fossil Rim, the animals come right up to your vehicle to feed from your hand. It is very interesting to see animals in a quiet, open habitat that provides a beautiful natural live display of the animals. There is a ticket office at the entrance to the park, where you pay for the number of persons in your vehicle. Children 2 and under are free. You can also purchase food pellets to feed the animals along your drive. It takes about 2 hours to tour the whole park, and there's never a dull moment. From the time you enter the park all the way to the end of your tour, you'll be entertained by the animals coming to your vehicle in search of food. Its best to take "wipes" along since the animals tend to leave traces of saliva on your hands, after feeding. Everyone in our car was thrilled to see the animals up close. If you allow them, they'll even stick their heads into your car. At no time did we fear the animals or sense any aggression. There is a children's petting zoo at the half way point of your drive. This is the only time where you're allowed to get out of your vehicle in the entire park. The zoo area has plenty of parking, and a wide variety of animals that the children can stand next to, touch or pet without fear. I would highly recommend a visit to this park if you love animals, or want to see them up close in a natural environment.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bavarianride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Your Are Being Watched”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you have the chance to visit this wonderful place in Glen Rose TX do so. It is wonderful chance to get close to nature. You can guide your self through the park in your own cart or in advance set up a guided tour conducted by park staff.

For a real treat set up the tour that takes you where other do not go. The extra cost for this is well worth the price and I am sure you will enjoy getting a different look at the park. We have done all of the tours offered and this one is the best.

Take the day come to the park, morning and later in the afternoon
(during the Summer months) is best, however any time to visit is great.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gregg t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great day at Fossil Rim”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

You can drive through the park (3 hours) and see fantastic animals that will walk right up to your car windows to be fed. It's a nice opportunity to see amazing animals (giraffe, water buffalo, cheetahs).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatrickErvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

You drive thru the park and see the non aggressive animals roaming around the park. The giraffes were impressive if you have a sun roof they will eat out of your hand. Most of the animals will come to food which you can buy. We had the grand kids with us and they loved it. It was well worth the admission price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank raydon46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fossil Rim Wildlife Center also viewed

 

Been to Fossil Rim Wildlife Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing