We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinosaur footprints!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dinosaur Valley State Park

Dinosaur Valley State Park
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Glen Rose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Search for dinosaur footprints at this state park located along the Paluxy River.
Ackerly, TX
2 reviews
“Dinosaur footprints!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Quick family trip. It was HOT or we probably would have enjoyed ourselves more. My son loved seeing the dinosaur footprints. Plus having dinosaur world right down the road was great too.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank lisonherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    169
    70
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Walking with the dinosaurs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Glen Rose is known for many things. Dinosaur Valley State Park is certainly no exception! we found ourselves following in the tracks of the great dinosaurs which once freely roamed the Texas hills. Our path carried us through the Paluxy river where dinosaur tracks were literally right along side our foot steps. The cool and refreshing water offered a brief refuge from the summer heat. We found ourselves alongside many others enjoying the scenic landscape and gorgeous views of the river and valley. It was easy to imagine how the great Dinosaurs once roamed the valley and sought their own refuge from the heat in the cool waters of the Paluxy river.
The park facilities were well cared for and the staff was eager to help and in constant patrol. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves and enjoying such a special and historical site. We will definitely revisit this park again in the future. Bring lots of water in the summer, it's a hot one!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank DigitalAlchemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Hill Country
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Like Finding Buried Treasure--Ancient Dino Tracks Make History Come Alive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I wasn't sure if we'd be able to find dinosaur tracks on our own, but the park's maps were accurate, access was easy and the tracks were easy to spot next to and often in the bed of the cool Paluxy River. The Paluxy runs through the park and the sweet town of Glen Rose in the "Northern Hill Country" of Texas, an hour's drive southwest of Fort Worth.

An interpretive ranger gives regular 'talks and walks' to the tracks. She starts with the story of the dinosaurs and other ancient life, encouraging participants to examine and hold fossils. Kids love hearing about the giant plant-eating Paluxysaurus jonesi, followed by a short walk to the river and the chance to stand in a Paluxysaurus footprint in the limestone riverbank. One footprint will hold about 6 little kids at once.

Check status of the river before you go by calling ahead or clicking the park's website. Tracks may not be visible during rainy periods and river is subject to flooding. In summer, go early in the day to miss the heat or bring a bathing suit and cool off in the river. Bring water shoes for low-water crossing and further exploring.

No food service in the park or close by so bring a cooler with food and drink if you want to spend a leisurely time exploring the site, river and nature trails. There is a shady picnic area with restrooms, jungle gym and swings, otherwise brave the sun stream-side. Campsites are available for a nominal fee. Non-campers will find a range of lodging in nearby Glen Rose.

We saw a red-tail hawk, wren and other birds on one of the nature trails, and a high bank of marine fossils.

This is a park I could visit over and over, for the natural beauty and feeling of connection to the planet.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank verokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go at the right time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Dinosaur tracks are amazing, yea you can go right upon them. Plan your visit according to weather and river level. Tracks are visible when the river is at normal level. Swimming is great when the river is at running level. Best dinosaur tracks in the world.

Helpful?
Thank Alto1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Where else can you walk in dinosaur footprints? After taking photos under the 2 giant dinosaurs (they're currently on a TV commercial), set off to "discover" more footprints along the river (river was dry when we were there). Wear tennis shoes to hike down the river bank & over baking hot rocks to hunt 2 distinctive types of dino-prints. Fun for everyone. Don't miss the gift shop. Follow a small sign to "Fossils" - a great rock shop owned by Fossil Hunter Morris Bussey - check out hundreds of ammonites he quarries locally.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Geokkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Valley State Park also viewed

 

Been to Dinosaur Valley State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing