We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopped @ WhistleStop Antiques and then on to Giddings' DownTown Restaurant for for lunch”

Giddings Downtown Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 35 Restaurants in Giddings
Restaurant details
Smithville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Shopped @ WhistleStop Antiques and then on to Giddings' DownTown Restaurant for for lunch”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nice building. Nice atmosphere. Street and ample parking at the rear with an entrance to match. My wife stops in on occassion but this was my first time. Meat loaf was excellent as was the squash and sweet potato. My wife had the smoothered beef which she said was quite good. The owner is there overseeing and leading the capable and friendly staff. Sunday 09/01/2013 @ 1:20PM

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    35
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Style Buffet”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The employees are sweet and helpful to the diners. The food is served to you; in large portions with a smile. The food is hot and homemade each day, and the cornbread and rolls are hot and yummy. The price is reasonable for the serving portions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Service is as good as the food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great place to stop for lunch when traveling between Austin and Houston. The service is friendly--the waitress made us feel right at home. We got the lunch special and were not disappointed. My teenager son declared the mashed potatoes the best he ever had. The sweet potatoes and green beans were great too. It is comfort food but the servings are reasonable--not so big to make you feel you overate. Agree with other reviewers that the tea is wonderful--and served with lime slices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth Stopping In!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were looking for a quick sit down lunch and we found the place. During lunch, they offer a special with 1 entree or 2 entree plate with 2 sides, bread and a drink. It's cafeteria style lunch. The food selection is all comfort food. The portions were generous size. They do offer a menu selection. We look forward visiting again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tahitiancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Top notch service and good home cookin'!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Loved the building as we entered. We were greeted with a smile and sat instantly. It was lunch and all they served was a minimal, but good, Furrs-like option with your choice of 1 meat and 2 veggies and a basic salad. Chicken fried steak was good quality, tender and flavored well. The sweet tea was heaven! We took a peak up the stairs at the private parties area. Everyone we encountered was nice and genuine, and the food was southern comfort. Overall, a pleasant surprise!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank djz032070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giddings Downtown Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Giddings Downtown Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing