We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale experience in classic historic Texas town”

San Gabriel House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Georgetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Gabriel House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Georgetown B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I have traveled the world and was delighted to find such upscale accommodations for such a reasonable price. Neil and Dee are classy pros who do their best despite having to deal with less than stellar guests. During our visit, there was a couple who couldn't understand why there was no television viewing in the bedrooms and treated Neil and Dee like 19th century chamber maids. Apparently other guests in the past have had the nerve to "borrow" items from this beautiful home, never to be seen again. Whoever the review person is who claims Neil and Dee are rude was probably gently asked to stop trying to party like they were at a No Tell Motel.

The reviewer complained because the proprietor kept cleaning up their cheap party favor glasses and had respect for their neighbors by curtailing loud music? Said the hosts stopped people from viewing a cake cutting????? Whatever.

I am so grateful to find a treasured environment like this! Thank you Neil and Dee for continuing to provide this exquisite respite despite an occasional guest who just should be staying somewhere else.

We are booking again for Valentine's Day. After that I hope to be considered a friend to this nice couple and won't be posting any more reviews. My opinion won't be changing. I know good value when I see it.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thelongroadhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 26 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Came to the North Austin area for a family releated event. Decideded to combine it with a chance for some quiet downtime in Georgetown. Selected the San Gabriel as an alternative to the roadside hotels. Good choice. The Historic mansion is directly across the street from the Southwestern University Campus. Just several blocks from the Geogetown square. The room large, comfortable and quiet. Dee and Neil make you feel right at home. Enjoyed an evening sitting in the library with a glass of wine picked up at the Grape Creek tasting room on the Georgetown Square.

Room Tip: The Bishop Rose Room has a King Canopy Bed and good size bath with Shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is an amazing historic mansion. Supposedly the biggest built in Georgetown. The breakfasts are great served on this giant antique dining table. I felt like Master Wayne and kept waiting for Alfred to tell me the Batmobile was fueled. Lol The owners were like friends from my first day there and are smart and interesting people.

Why would you stay anywhere else in Georgetown?

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Dochands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We made an impromptu trip to shop in and around Georgetown, TX. The weather was grand and we decided to stay at the San Gabriel House B & B there. We enjoyed our evening wine on the wide front veranda; had a delicious meal at Monument Cafe; and then settled in to our feather-top mattress for an amazing end to the day. Breakfast of french toast (best I've ever had) and broiled grapefruit was lovely. Dee and Neil are very accommodating to all your needs. We will make this a priority stop-over for years to come.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bluelexilou23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We held our daughter's wedding and reception here and we could not have been more pleased! The wedding was in the evening in the lovely backyard with the reception in the home and on the front porch. Dee and Neil went above and beyond to make our daughter's day perfect. We all met several times prior to the wedding to make sure everything was just as we wanted, which it was, and all we had to do was show up the day of the wedding. We live in neighborhood but had out of state guests that stayed in B&B during the festivities...they loved the accomodations! We highly recomend The San Gabriel House for any event! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My trip to Georgetown, TX was both business and pleasure. Prior to leaving we looked for someplace that wasn't your standard hotel and really couldn't find anything in the area. So we opted for a Bed and Breakfast which we haven't tried this avenue in many, many years.

The property sits directly across from Southwestern Methodist University and is a gorgeous campus to walk, especially in the evening.

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and were the only guests for the evening after a large party had left. The house is beautiful and each guest room has it's own personality and private bath. The stairs were very squeaky but it is a 98 year old house. It could be a disturbance if other guests come in once you're fast asleep. We were served champagne on our arrival. We woke to fresh brewed coffee in the upstairs sitting area, and spent some time on the upstairs patio overlooking the street. A very lovely breakfast was served as well.

Would I return? Yes. For the price it was much more accommodating and personal than the usual chain hotels up on the freeway. It is located 3 blocks from downtown and was a quiet place to wind down. I really want to try this property again when it isn't 105 degrees outside. I think the porches would be a great place to spend some "down" time in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lilusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I was a guest at a wedding reception held in the backyard. The service was absolutely horrible! The owners were so rude! They were talking bad about the guests while in the carriage house. The wedding favors were pint glasses which hardly no guests actually were able to take home because the owners would clear them away whenever you placed your glass down to dance. They also kept turning down the music which was never too loud. The owners didn't allow guests to witness the cake cutting. They ended up kicking everyone out early. This wedding was not crazy at all. The house and grounds were beautiful but I felt so bad for my friends who chose to have their reception here due to the unnecessary rudeness.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 952Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Georgetown hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Georgetown Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Georgetown / Austin North
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Austin Georgetown Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 10 in Georgetown
114 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Georgetown
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Georgetown
Candlewood Suites Georgetown
#6 of 10 in Georgetown
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Gabriel House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Gabriel House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1008 E University Ave, Georgetown, TX 78626-6111
Location: United States > Texas > Georgetown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Georgetown
Price Range: $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Gabriel House, a 1908 mansion across from Southwestern University and a mere ten minute walk from Georgetown's historic downtown Square, is the quintessential Bed & Breakfast. Enjoy the gardens or relax in one of the many picturesque settings. With five guest rooms, outstanding gardens, a cozy library, a large formal dining room and covered porches, you will not want to leave! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing