We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Pasta Dish - Ever”
Review of Gumbo's

Gumbo's
Ranked #11 of 152 Restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Pasta Dish - Ever”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had the Pasta dish - was it ever good! Wow! Had to be fresh homemade pasta, tender and in a great white sauce with shrimp, crawfish tails, New Orleans sausage, jalapeños and ever so good. Very rich - went again to try something else but could not resist ordering again. Just as good if not better! I don't know if I can resist a third time. The crab cake appetizer was just as good! And desert was great! I hate to write a great review as everyone else will discover this wonderful place and I will have to make reservations months in advance! Keep up the great work!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    79
    29
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food is good!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food is good! They still have a few kinks to,work out for service. The upstairs is difficult to get good service. Overall, nice experience and the food is still good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Worldshopper_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy Hour- epic fail”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Beautiful spring afternoon so the girls and I thought Happy Hour on the balcony at Gumbo's would be perfect - in reality, not so much. Poor service and weak Happy Hour menu. We drank up and left quickly. Still in search of a good Georgetown Happy Hour, sigh.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsetbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Food & Ambiance”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were recommended to Gumbo's by a friend and we were pleasantly surprised. In our experience we don't often find well prepared food in the smaller Texas towns. Sometimes good basic foods but not much more.
Gumbo's goes way beyond basic and the food is really delicious. The dining room is relaxed but feels like it has some class. There is a bar upstairs with a totally fun, young vibe with live music and a separate bar menu (You can also order from the main menu). Being upstairs it doesn't interfere with the calmer dining ambience.
The meal was delicious, I had a grilled red fish with crab on top, my wife had the small tenderloin and both were well prepared, well sauced and nicely presented. The service was a little rushed (we were at the peak Saturday dinner hour and the place was packed) but eager to please.
All in all, a delightful experience and we would love to return when we go back to Georgetown.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeandWilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food..”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our visit was a birthday celebration. Food quality and taste were good, though it felt a bit pricy. This could be alleviated if salad were included with price of the entree. This is a lovely, historic building. Would like to see them spread the seating out just a bit to give a slightly more luxurious, less crowded feel.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DLFGeorgetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo's also viewed

 

Been to Gumbo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing