We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun place to eat great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Monumento

El Monumento
Ranked #11 of 152 Restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Garland, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A fun place to eat great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our hotel staff recommended this restaurant and we ate there 3 times in 2 days. It was built to resemble an expanded 1940s diner and that uniqueness is only the beginning of the dining experience. The food was delicious (some with a unique way of preparing it), the service there was informal but friendly and professional, and the prices reasonable. They grow many of their own vegetables on site and have a store offering many of the things they serve. We never expected to find such a great restaurant in a relatively small town like Georgetown. If you go down that way, don't miss it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank William719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    106
    76
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“good food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a beautiful restaurant, has a herb garden and outdoor seating on the bank of the San Gabriel river. We shared a plate of shredded beef tacos and the suiza chicken enchiladas with a sour cream based sauce over them, very good. A side of their outstanding guacamole is a must order, we didn't even know this place was here until we saw it on Daytripper.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTexasFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Been there twice this month. The food is fair but inconsistent according to how busy they are. The one thing that is really annoying is the way every server insists on interrupting conversations with "is everything ok?" Over and over again. Once is enough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyntexn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The restaurant design and the setting overlooking the San Gabriel River are outstanding. My wife and I have been there three times, and the trend has not been positive. I would have rated it five stars on our first visit early this year: food, mixed drinks, and service were all outstanding. On our second visit drinks were well done, but the food and service were mediocre. Our recent visit with another couple deserved no more than one star: drinks were not mixed properly and tasted off; the rotisserie chicken, chicken tacos, and tortillas were dried out and lacked flavor, the polar opposite of our first visit; and the service was well intended but abysmal. I certainly hope they get their act together.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WCW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupland, Texas
2 reviews
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This place is an amazing experience! The food is fresh and unique and delicious all at the same time. The landscape nurtures the beauty of the hill country with unique touches of interesting plants and trees. Wonderful atmosphere, service and food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Monumento also viewed

 

Been to El Monumento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing