We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third visit was the charm!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Monumento

El Monumento
Ranked #11 of 152 Restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Georgetown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Third visit was the charm!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

El Mon is only getting better.....visited twice in Dec and again this past Saturday night. Service has greatly improved (Nicole was tremendous). Food quality is evening out.........There were five of us, three had the Spare Rib Enchiladas which were terrific, one raved about the carne asada he had (cooked perfectly, very good quality beef), and the fifth one of us thought the empanadas were great! Two of us substituted the kale and sweet potato dish for the beans....the kale and sweet potatoes were sitll very tasty, but I liked them better on my last visit when the sweet potatoes were chopped in smaller pieces and the kale was shredded...That is the only thing I would have changed about our visit on Saturday.

Only other thing I would like to see EL MON do is either accept reservations or allow customers to sign an online wait list before heading to the restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DLFGeorgetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    106
    76
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Strange layout - couldn't figure out where to enter the place but after walking around found the hostess stand and was told the wait would be about an hour. This was at about 5:30 on a Tuesday evening. I said OK, we'll have a drink in the bar, but that is done in an outdoor patio and it was drizzling. There was no place near the bar under cover. They put us in an unused dining room with a few tables and chairs but no condiments, utensils, or service. Had to walk thru the rain to get a couple of overpriced margaritas. Grabbed a menu on the way back and looked it over. Never was offered chips and salsa. Decided to save our money and go somewhere else.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelinfoolfromtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, TX
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not Tex Mex”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very disappointed in the food taste. Everything from the chips and salsa to the selection of the menu were disappointments. Their other restaurant "The Monument Cafe" is awesome from top to bottom, but this has nothing to offer but the view. I try to only write positive reviews, but I'm still upset I wasted 30 bucks here two months later. I actually ordered a second entree because I didn't like the first!

Helpful?
Thank JDBfromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown TX USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pedestrian chips and salsa”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

El Mon is a beautiful, beautiful restaurant to rival the tony competition in Austin. Service was spotty: there seemed to be loads of staff milling around, but our waitress was alternatively aggressive and then would disappear. We'd hoped the food would be better than the parent restaurant, The Monument Cafe up the street. Alas, not yet.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Interior Mexican Food!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Attended a GNO here recently and all of us were impressed with El Monumento! Our server was very professional and let us sample several items before ordering, including their take on guacamole with red grapes. We loved it and the house made tortilla chips.The Enchiladas Chicken Suiza was fabulous. Although we didn't order dessert we were tempted by those delivered to other tables. Can't wait to try more options on my next visit like the Pozole and rellenos. The decor is beautiful and relaxing. Glad that Georgetown has an alternative to Tex-Mex like El Monumento!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Star0fTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Monumento also viewed

 

Been to El Monumento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing