We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Addition”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wasabi

Wasabi
Ranked #35 of 152 Restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Central Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Addition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've eaten at Wasabi several times now and each time I've been pleased with the meal. The service is great and the food is delicious. It can be a bit crowded and it can also get quite noisy if all the other tables are full and the music is on too loud. The lunch specials are generous portions and the prices are right. I always end up bringing home half of my meal to enjoy at a later time. I would recommend you try it as it's a great addition to the Georgetown restaurants.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travlr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    7
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Japanese Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Its the only good variety of Asian food in Georgetown. Service is usually good but the young wait staff is just inexperienced. The Shrimp Tempura Dinner is the best value. The lunch specials are a good choice, as is the Yakisoba. Not authentic Japanese but will do. I highly recommend the Austin Roll

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kratzmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutto, Texas
Level Contributor
222 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great secret place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

I say secret because we live in Georgetown and have never heard of this place. The sandwich shop next door drowns it out. From the outside it appears like a get it and go japenese restaurant, but once inside it is different for the better. The food is very good and reasonably priced. We have been there twice in three weeks and plan on going several more times.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Chinese version of a bento box”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

The food at Wasabi tastes ok, but the combinations (at least in the bento box) are strange. Bento box is a traditional Japanese meal. The version at Wasabi does not include the expected Japanese contents but mixes in Chinese items. A Shrimp Tempura bento box, for example includes shredded Daikon and a Tempura sauce (tentsuyu) - a thin dark sauce combining several Japanese ingredients (mirin, shoyu, daishi sauces). Wasabi serves the tempura with a bright red sauce that appears to be a version of a Chinese sweet and sour sauce. The Wasabi bento box also comes with a Chinese style Egg Roll and fried wonton. The shrimp are the smallest shrimp I have ever seen in a serving of tempura. Taste wise, the Miso soup is very good, the Sushi is better than HEB takeout, but not as good as most Austin Japanese restaurants, and the other items are average or perhaps a little above. The restaurant was busy at lunch and the wait staff was clearly overwhelmed and service slow. Near the end of the meal it cleared out some so we got more attentive service. We did however note that the apparent method of delivering fortune cookies was to walk by rapidly and throw them from a few feet so they skidded across the table. Perhaps Wasabi will get better as it ages and if they serve more authentic dishes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bicwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food and service, as always, great.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was my third visit in 2 months. Wasabi is not a large restaurant. Food and service was, as always, great. No crying babies or tacky waiters singing "happy, happy birthday." Just really good food at reasonable price in a nicely maintained restaurant. I'll be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank farsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wasabi also viewed

 

Been to Wasabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing