We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get all your BBQ”

The Pit Barbecue Restaurant
Ranked #58 of 153 Restaurants in Georgetown
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to get all your BBQ”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Love the BBQ here....and the sides are wonderful. I have been going here for 25 years. They even will cook your turkey, ham in their ovens for a reasonable price. You also can go inside and eat or drive thru and pick up dinner. Your choice and the food is wonderful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    15
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very dependable quality”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I've never been disappointed here, always receiving a good meal from a friendly, professional staff. This is nothing fancy, just fresh, tasty barbeque. I love their brisket (I ask for "moist" although the lean would certainly be healthier) and their chopped beef sandwiches and the baked potatoes are always good. Their ice tea is excellent. Good cobbler (although everyone in my family is sad that they don't seem to ever have cherry anymore. We usually don't get the chicken, as the leg is typically a bit dry.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aggieal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Georgetown Pit Babaque”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I have eaten BBQ sandwiches from this restaurant on several occasions; to go! They serves up a fairly decent BBQ sandwich from you choice of BBQ meats. Fairly generous portions with O.K. pricing.
The restaurant uses oak to smoke their selection of meats. So if you like an "oakey" taste you should be pleased.
The restaurant features table in a small dining area. The "drive-thru" windows always seems to be busy..
There is dedicated parking in front. and on one side. But plenty of parking spaces in the adjacent parking lot.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A very good local Barbeque”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Pit Barbeque has been a local favorite for many years; their brisket and sausage dinners are very good, while their ribs are average. They offer the option of dine-in “counter order” or drive-thru service. Their best buy is the "Belly Buster Sandwich (brisket)" which comes with choice of chips and a large drink; lemonade is excellent and ice tea is very good. I believe you can get it with a soft drink; however, we have never gotten past the lemonade or ice tea. The "belly buster dinner" is also very good especially with a baked potato. If you don't feel like a large meal or sandwich, they frequently offer a smaller chopped beef sandwich for $0.99. You can buy meats by the pound, in a sandwich, or dinner; which include turkey. You can also buy ice tea by the gallon for under $4. The Pit is located in Georgetown, a mile west (toward Sun City) on Williams Drive (FM-2338) from I-35 exit 261A (northbound) or 262 (southbound).

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ello0491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
276 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good consistent bbq”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Pit has been in Georgetown for many years, and has good bbq. Their food is consistently good. Their family packs are good values.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank genelary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pit Barbecue Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Pit Barbecue Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing