We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really creative food, environment, meh!”

La Playa Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 152 Restaurants in Georgetown
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At La Playa Mexican Cafe, our goal is to give you a memorable dining experience with our combination of flavors, ambiance and award winning service. With a passion and dedication to detail, we're certain you'll be thinking of us long after.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really creative food, environment, meh!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have lived in Georgetown about six months and several people have told us to try La Playa, but we have not made it there until this week. If the place had just a bit of character, it would rate 5 stars, but that detail has been overlooked. The margaritas are about 7 on a 1-10 scale, but the food is both creative and delicious. I had the best tamales I have ever had, and my wife had very creative tacos.
The service was a notch above acceptable and the price was very reasonable. I would recommend it and we will go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 19don36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    40
    25
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice evening atmosphere, decent food”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

If you're in Georgetown of an evening and feel the need for a frozen margarita, this is the place to go. Comfy and pleasant with reasonably priced alcohol and overpriced food, La Playa is a good bet.

I am a fan of the beef fajitas with Tarrasca sauce (onions, mushrooms, poblano peppers), and I also like the fried avocado and the tortilla soup with chicken. A friend swears the cheese enchiladas are the best in town, so enjoy those, too! I don't know why a cheese enchilada plate would be $10, so I don't roll that way.

There is outside seating, but it's silly - out the front door and around on the side of the building facing busy Williams Drive with no shade. And for lunch, I think the place is way too dark. But for a happy hour margarita, I'll see you there!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TMB_Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A HIDDEN GEM!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Upon recommendation of several friends, I visited La Playa for lunch. I was surprised to see the extensive menu, especially the seafood choices, in a strip mall Mexican restaurant in Georgetown.
The staff, especially the waitstaff, were prompt and competent. Chips and salsa[s] appeared immediately. A major plus was the verde sauce.
I ordered something I had never encountered, a seafood covered fried eggplant. It was incredible, but way too big for a lunch for one person. It could have easily been shared. Again, it was incredible.
I came back later the same week for Happy Hour. Well made well Margaritas for $2.22 all day on Tuesdays. Upon recommendation, I tried the seafood enchiladas. Again, excellent. I took Mole enchiladas to go; and my wife said that even after time in the car, that they were some of the best she had ever had.
This place is worht looking for. The highest recommendationsthat I can give.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank osohub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“EEHH?!?”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Service was ok, not real busy but waiter kept forgetting about us (6 people). They seemed more worried about getting the to go orders ready than seating us. The green sauce is good, I've had it on a previous visit but we didn't have any because they ran out. Fish tacos where ok, on flour tortillas with cheese, call me a purist not the way to eat fish tacos. Flautas are ok and the beef enchiladas are kind if bland. Beans are very good as was the queso with beef. I've had better, EEHH.

Helpful?
1 Thank Big1daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tex-Mex”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Good, classic Tex-Mex food. Everything was fresh. The chips and flour tortillas were hot and home made. The unusual green sauce (for dipping chips) was mild and very good. We had fajitas (2 different kinds) and they were excellent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Playa Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Playa Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing