We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor location , poor wifi, pleasant helpful staff, well kept clean property” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Georgetown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Georgetown
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Georgetown
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
319 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“poor location , poor wifi, pleasant helpful staff, well kept clean property”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I arrived because I had a business appointment. The property was well kept and the staff was congenial and helpful. Two of the three washing machines were broken; one of the two computers in the business center was out of service and the wifi was spotty. The location was outside of town and accessible by car but there was no attached restaurant or café. Georgetown is a very nice town and has several good restaurants and shopping centers. The center of town as advertised is very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Edward S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is very pleasing to know that you found the staff friendly. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced over some of our facilities. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to Georgetown.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    9
    0
    6
See reviews for
18
12
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Reserved 5 nights through booking.com, and reservation allowed cancellation with no penalty. Plans changed, so I cancelled two months before the check-in date, with confirmation from booking.com. What a delightful surprise when, two months later, Candlewood Suites deducts over $525, the total from my original reservation. I called the hotel and someone named Stephanie tells me without knowing my name or situation that it is a non refundable deposit and that there is nothing I can do about it. Of course there is no GM present (running theme here, apparently). Called a number of times over next few days, never with a GM available. Apparently at one point the GM was there but could not take a call, due to a major clean up underway resulting from "a tragedy" that had just occurred on the property. Crikey... anyway, booking.com verified this was a reservation that could be cancelled without penalty and called hotel on my behalf. Apparently, management would communicate with booking. I have gotten word from booking (not Candlewood, mind you) that they agreed to a refund, sometime within the next FOUR weeks. Shame on them... I have stayed at Candlewood at this and other locations in the past. They got me... But never again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel G, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Karin,

I would first like to apologize for your inconvenience. I spoke with the GM at length about your situation and I am truly sorry. The employee unfortunetly gave you wrong information regarding the cancellation policy and did not follow our policy and procedure regarding disputed charges. The GM did not hear about the charges until she spoke with Booking.com and reversed the charges the same day. It can take 1 to 10 business days for those charges to credit your card. The contact information under the reservation is for booking.com and they cannot release your information . Again your contact information was not passed to the GM, so we could not reach you. The issue with the employee was handled internally and can assure you and other guests this is not our standard of practice. We would love to speak with you and hope to earn your trust. Please email me at candlewoodgtdos@yahoo.com with your information. Again we are terribly sorry for your experience and hope you will allow us to be your hotel of choice in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresson, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Recently my family and I stayed in this hotel.We needed a place for our pet. Jacky Jaynes helped us by extending an attitude of extreme helpfulness and kindness. She actually walked to the back of the parking lot with a rolling cart for me to use to transport items, grandkids, and a dog. I was very warmed with her friendly helpful actions.
Our room was very pleasant and it is an excellent place to stay . We will stay there again and hope Jacky is working when we arrive. I figure all the staff is nice but we were blessed to be taken care of by her.
Beth C

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel G, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Beth,

Thank you for the kind review. I shared your review with Jacky and she remembered you well and was glad to be able to help. It sounds like you had your hands full and I am pleased we able to accommodate you. We take customer service seriously and try to make everyone of our guests feel at home and I am pleased that came across. We look forward to visiting with you again and we will try to make sure Jacky is working when you check in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on June 1. When I reserved the room online, I noticed that they only had (1) double bed suite left, but it was a smoking room. I called the hotel and spoke with Shelby. She was very nice. I asked if they had an air purifier. She said that she would contact the hotel next door to see if she could borrow theirs. When I checked in, she told me that they used the purifier AND housekeeping sprayed some type of spray in the room. To our surprise, the room did NOT smell like smoke at all. I was very impressed and happy. This hotel does not serve breakfast, but that was not an issue. The laundry is FREE....which is another plus since both of my boys played in a tournament & I definitely had to wash their uniforms. The only issue that I had was that once the room reaches a certain temperature, the air conditioner would cut off. Other than that, I do not have any complaints. If we ever play in the Georgetown area again, we will definitely make this our #1 choice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Basketballmom2k13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel G, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. I am happy we were able to satisfy your expectations with the smoking room. Shelby and all our front desk staff try to make your experience enjoyable while you visit the area. I hope your tournament went well and I will pass this review on to the whole staff. We appreciate you staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

staff cleaned room early allowing us to check in early, while waiting on room to be cleaned Ethan at front desk let us know that a room with 2 beds had become available. Which I oringinaly wanted, but was unavailable at time I made reservation. Clean comfortable rooms. I wish they served braskfast, but, because they are extended stay I guess that is why they don't. There is small cooktop and a full size refrigerator and a microwave. Rooms were quiet and did not hear neighbors or highway noise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Julia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was pleased to see we were able to accommodate the room type you originally wanted and was able to check you in early. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service. I will make sure Ethan and the rest of the staff get the message of a job well done and I appreciate you choosing to stay with Candlewood Suites Georgetown. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

It was hard to find from the access road. The sign is on the side street (It is in the same parking lot as the Holiday Inn Express). The outside does not look impressive, very simple and plain. But inside the room is great. A suite with separate bedroom. Also has a kitchen.
This worked well for business, but would also be good when traveling with the kids.
I guess they allow big dogs because I heard them next door. Made me a little nervous as the ajoining door was unlocked when I checked in. Part of my walkthru is checking joining doors, windows, and the mattress, so not a big deal.
The dogs made noise for a minute, rubbing against the ajoining door, then nothing for the rest of the night. I also heard some noise in the hall, but again none in the late evening.
Did not hear any road noise from the freeway either. Overall good night.
Room was clean, large and nice. Almost too big for one person for a night.
Fist stay at a Candlewood, but it is now in my list of hotels.

Room Tip: Turn in at the Holiday Inn. Get a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bstrvl55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to write a review. We are happy to see you enjoyed our one bedroom suite. It is the biggest of our rooms and is very spacious especially when you are traveling with children. We will make sure the message about the cleanliness of the room gets back to our housekeepers and what great job they are doing. We just want to thank you again for choosing to stay with Candlewood Suites Georgetown and officially making your list. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was my first stay at a Candlewood Suites property. Ironically, I live 5 miles away from this hotel and watched it's construction last year. As a special treat for my 7 year old who loves to stay in a hotel, I booked this hotel online through a discount site. We chose this hotel because it was close to home so we could still care for the dog at home. I considered bringing the dog but with a $150 pet deposit, refunded up to 5 business days later, we decided to leave her at home.

Our room was very clean and functional.. Here's what we liked:
-convenient table for doing homework
-in room DVD player and DVD's at the front desk
-television viewable from beds, recliner, and table
-in room refridgerator with ice maker
-very quiet walls and halls
-convenient in house snack store

The only downside to the trip was when we checked into the hotel Once the staff member realized we booked at a discount website, she wasn't as courteous and requested that we book direct next time offering the same discount. We'll see.

Room Tip: Before you buy your room online from a discounter, try calling the hotel directly to see if they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w0rktraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Georgetown, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Candlewood Suites Georgetown. I am pleased you had an overall enjoyable experience at our hotel and you were able to have that experience with your son. We take customer service seriously and you should not be treated any different regardless where you booked your room and if you felt that way, I apologize. Guests have the freedom to book their rooms in differet ways and we want all guests to feel welcome. I thank you for choosingto stay with us at Candlewood Suites Georgetown, and if you are ever passing by please stop by and say hi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Georgetown
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Georgetown Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Georgetown Texas Hotel & Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Georgetown / Austin North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Georgetown
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Georgetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
8.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Austin Round Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Georgetown

Property: Candlewood Suites Georgetown
Address: 451 North IH-35, Georgetown, TX 78628
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Georgetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Georgetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Georgetown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the all new Candlewood Suites Georgetown. Georgetown's ONLY extended stay hotel! You will enjoy our richly appointed, comfortable suites. Let our friendly staff welcome you to your home away from home. We are an all suites hotel, with full kitchenettes, including a full-size refrigerator with ice-maker, a full-size dishwasher, a full-size microwave, a 2 burner ceramic/glass cook top. You will love having the convenience of an onsite, complimentary guest laundry. Experience affordable luxury and come home to Candlewood! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing