We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!”
Review of On the Square

On the Square
Ranked #1 of 7 Shopping in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A store selling unique, but cheap gifts.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We love the Georgetown Square, there are lots of fun shops to peruse and we enjoy the various arts and crafts festivals that are held there. We especially love Burger University and have eaten there many times. My sisters love the coffee shop and I love stopping in Sweet Serendipity to shop and buy some delicious chocolates. There is no place like On the Square in Georgetown.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovetotravel7066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    19
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
368 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“wow, an old school town square”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Normally I wouldn't rave about a town square however this is one of the few towns that isn't all boarded up or dilapidated. There were a lot of people out and about and nearly all the store fronts are rented/open. Went here for Christmas in 2012 and 2013 and red poppy festivals as well. We also enjoy 2nd Saturdays where there are booths like a street festival. Could use more food and less junk type shops. Parking is easy during non event times of year.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank CVworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice place for a lazy afternoon stroll”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

It's a fun place to grab a coffee and stroll around the many boutique shops around the square. There are lots of great restaurant options. We were there on the 4th, (First Friday), and enjoyed the live music on the lawn.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
215 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Still a fun place to walk.”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very charming, a snapshot out of our past. Some good shops. Friendly people. Beautiful at Christmastime.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank josephedward71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Why was it voted the prettiest square in Texas?”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Because it is! Charming old Texas buildings mixed with some Victorians and offering only unique shops, not national chains. The surrounding homes are a blend of late 1800's and early 1900's on shady streets near the oldest university in Texas.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Square also viewed

 

Been to On the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing