We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cool Place, Great Food”

Babe's Chicken Dinner House
Ranked #1 of 337 Restaurants in Garland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very Cool Place, Great Food”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

On a visit to Dallas area went here for lunch and it was such a cool place inside, old western decor, countyr music,, friendly staff, quick service and the food was wonderful and plentiful...just great. We also went to the original Babe's and enjoyed that as well, but I thnk we like this one better. Go and you won't be disappointed and it fun :-)

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    117
    30
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best home-cooking this side of grandma's house!”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the Metroplex. With classic country music playing in the background, you order a meat--fried chicken, chicken tenders, chicken fried steak, pot roast, fried catfish, smoked chicken--and you get all you can eat biscuits and family-style veggies brought to your table. If you order the smoked chicken and enjoy the veggies, it can be somewhat healthy eating. If you, like me, eat 2 or 3 biscuits with butter and sweet sorghum to follow up your plate-sized chicken fried steak, not so much. :-)

PROS:
- Great food
- Awesome biscuits and one of the few places you can get good sweet sorghum
- Honey and sorghum available for sale
- Friendly service

CONS:
- No sweet tea
- You'll eat too much

  • Visited September 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigTxDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This place always makes me smile.”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The food is great, the service amazing, and the atmosphere always gives you a lift! Often have just the veggie plate--the veggies are homestyle and amazing. But when I have an entree, I order the chicken-fried steak. Tender every time.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elmiragegranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good fried chicken & strips; a little pricey for the family”
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We frequent this restaurant fairly regularly. The sides are always wonderful and the chicken is great. Tables are really squeezed together so its usually pretty tight, but service is usually good and friendly. Would recommend for anyone looking for homestyle food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aplnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place! There were just 2 things...”
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Great place! There were just 2 things that were missing: sweet tea and yeast rolls!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlestarprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Babe's Chicken Dinner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing