We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy 91st Birthday Hanna ”

Matt's Rancho Martinez - Garland
Ranked #8 of 337 Restaurants in Garland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Southwestern
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy 91st Birthday Hanna ”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Great party at Matt's. The food and service was fantastic! Husband and I will definitely be back! Cosmo needed to be a little stronger.
Keep up the good work!

Helpful?
Thank AWTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    41
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Matt's - Great Tex-Mex with a Twist”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Went with a group. We started with the Bob Armstrong dip. It was terrific. The combination of ingredients was unusual, but they worked and the dip was delicious. Had the Matt's Famous Chile Relleno. One of the best I've ever had. Again, the ingredients were a bit unusual. First time, I've had pecan and raisins in a chile relleno. However, again, it worked. The only complaint was the tortilla chips were a bit thick & heavy, but the salsa was terrific. Service was good, but a bit slow as the restaurant was packed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank filtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brisket is good but...”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

The chips was very bland and grainy. The salsa was good but had a little too much spice. I had the brisket grilled tacos. The tacos weren't dripping in oil but tasted fried (not grilled). Waiter said it was gently grilled. Odd menu that skewed toward the Tex part of tex-mex. I wouldn't return again.

Helpful?
Thank travelguy10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice tex mex restaurant”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Nice variety of food. Reasonably priced. Service was just ok. Atmosphere was nice. Close to our hotel.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maddyl213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpharetta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Eh...”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Matt's has a good reputation in Dallas, so I felt pretty safe eating here. The restaurant is nicely decorated and comfortable and the staff is very nice and very efficient. The food however is just not great and not worthy of it's reputation. I travel to Dallas on business often and the first time I was there my host told me we "had" to eat at Matt's so my hopes were high. My food was not terrible, but certainly not great, it was just ok. On my most recent trip again my host said we just had to go to Matt's, so thinking maybe I just ordered the wrong thing last time I was game to try it again. Opps, wrong idea. This time I ordered something that I normally love, but really couldn't eat it here. What is the deal with Tex mex restaurants soaking their tortillas in grease and then plopping them on a plate?? I had very high expectations of Mexican food in Texas and the three times I've eaten it there it was not good at all. What am I missing?? I will say this, the next time I have to go to Matt's I will just order the cheese dip, I think it's called Bob Armstrong, it is the only thing I've had there that was amazing!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank holly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matt's Rancho Martinez - Garland also viewed

 

Been to Matt's Rancho Martinez - Garland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing