We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugs in the Bed- Spider!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Garland Harbor Point
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Garland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Hotel has good ratings an this is what I follow all the time.

But to make it short ..I would copy paste the same review of Vitalu 00 below.I completely agree with the review.

PROS:
Good Looking outside makes you feel every thing is great.

CONS:
SMOKE FREE HOTEL- but the first room the gave was smelled heavy smoke, they moved us to the next one.
BUGS- While I was lying down I felt itchy on the bed and started feeling Scared, under my sheet was a spider...got me scared, I thought it was bed bugs.
The Whole night I couldnt sleep thinking there might be more.

MORNING: In the Morning - the Room smelt like SMOKE- Its the VENT which throws burnt air or you feel something is on fire.

AVOID if possible- I just dont like bugs sharing my bed.

Trip Advisor should check the Ratings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hitvyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 227 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Travelling alone on a budget, came across this hotel on ebookers. Spent the past 2 weeks living in hostels around USA so was really looking forward to own room anyway! Bowled over throughout visit, staff couldnt be more helpful. David working on nightshift is a great guy who offers great advice, Poppy on day shift was very helpful and pleasant. Room had fridge, microwave, large flatscreen, recliner chair, desk and very nice bath/shower. Lots of space too. Could have charged double the rate and it would have still been reasonable! Breakfast was lovely, hot and cold selection.
Free parking was available, safe area, close to shops. Gym small but always quiet, swimming pool and spa very good. Couldnt ask for more really, smashing place!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I couldn't have been more impressed with this hotel. The price was the most reasonable I could find in the area, but the accommodations were so nice it felt like a much higher-priced hotel. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable with 5 down pillows on the king size bed to make myself comfy both sleeping and watching TV. Free wifi was available and there were plenty of plugs for charging phones and electronics convenient to where I was working. Housekeeping kept the bathroom clean and fresh and well stocked with towels and toiletries. Breakfast was complete and well-rounded with both hot and cold selections, two kinds of juice and coffee. Great way to start the day. I didn't get a chance to use the pool, but I looked in and it sure seemed inviting. I wish I'd had more time to enjoy it, but I'm sure I'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Waco, Texas, USA
11
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here because we celebrated my inlaws 50th anniversary, we actually had it on the meeting room since its was just the immediate family, the meeting room was great and very clean, we had 7 round tables, and 4 rectangular tables, it was very classy, everyone was very friendly and helpful, rooms were really clean, beds were great, I would stayed here again. Popy it's super nice and attended to our needs not just for the dinner party but as guest of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Whenever my family travels, our first choice is always LaQuinta. I'm a Rewards member so it's nice to stay in a quality hotel AND rack up reward points at the same time. Those were the driving factors when I decided to treat the sweetie to a Father's Day getaway, but keep it local.

I'll start with the pros of this LaQuinta. The staff was friendly and tended to our issue with the defective shower immediately upon notification. The pool was nice for a quick dip and the beds were comfortable for our two-night stay.

Now on to the cons. My biggest issue at this site was the bugs, beetles to be more specific. They were EVERYWHERE!! Unfortunatly, I have an extreme, nearly paralyzing, fear of bugs, especially the ones that fly. I was so glad our room was located on the second floor as the critters were everywhere on the first floor, roaming the halls and stairwell as if they too had paid for a two-night stay. The issue seemed most prevelant after dark, so, if you intend to return to your room after the sun has set, be prepared for the invasion.

The second biggest issue for us was the shower that didn't work. Regretfully, we didn't report the issue until the following morning and simply made do with a modified bath the previous night.

There was a stain that appeared to be blood on the tank of the toilet. I didn't bother with reaching out to the front desk as I travel with Clorox wipes and Lysol, apparently more prepared than the cleaning crew (thus the modified bath, extent of cleaning was questionable).

Throughout the entire stay, whenever the vent was activated in the restroom, there was a smell of cigarrette smoke alternating with that of incense burning and what my mom refers to as "funny cigarrettes". The facility is supposed to be 100% smoke-free.

After the first night, we found that our access cards had been deactivated despite our reservation that specified a second night's stay. Also, the carpet was stained near the refrigerator where it appeared some reddish liquid had spilled (hoping there is no connection to the stain on the toilet).

I intend to travel for a week in September to Florida. Where my initial choice would be a stay in the nearest LaQuinta, my most recent experience has me leary about what my family may be in for. I'd hate to ruin what I hope is a fabulous vacation with sub-par accommodations.

Overall, my recent stay was disappointing, but we made the best of it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vitaluv00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel was very nice and seemed brand new. The only reason I gave sleep quality a low score was we were placed in an adjoining room and the person next door stayed up late watching tv and coughing. Then woke up very early coughing. I don't think it would have been an issue if there had been a solid wall between the rooms rather than a door with a large gap underneath. I would gladly stay here again but would request a non-adjoining room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank lilydale1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Clean hotel. Friendly staff. Breakfast was fantastic. The only negative thing is the amount of animal guests in the hotel. Dogs are barking up and down the hallways. Very annoying when you are trying to relax.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn08973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Garland hotels
8.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Dallas/Garland/Richardson
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Garland E - Lake Hubbard I30
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Garland - East Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Garland
Holiday Inn Garland
#5 of 16 in Garland
142 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Garland/Rowlett/East Dallas Area
4.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Garland/Dallas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Garland Harbor Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Garland Harbor Point

Address: 375 I-30 East Bobtown Rd Exit, Garland, TX 75043
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Garland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Garland
Price Range: $85 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Garland Harbor Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Garland Harbor Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Garland Harbor Point
La Quinta Inn & Suites Garland Harbor Point Hotel Garland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing