We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up to its expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Up to its expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

This isn't a 5-star place. If you grasp that, you will be fine here. Rates were decent. I got a great military discount taking the room below 140 per night for a queen-sized bed, pull-out couch bed, kitchenette, and day bed. This was more than we needed for my family of four. Nothing in the room was dirty at all although some of it did need some basic repair (small paint chips, etc.). The hotel is right on the beach and walking distance to many restaurants. The location is on the water, but the beach immediately across the street isn't too great so you have to walk a little or drive to get to a better beach spot with more sand. View was great though. On-site pools were very good and the breakfast each morning was more than a continental breakfast for sure. You can plan on that being enough for you to eat for breakfast. Overall, understanding this isn't the high-end place, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkram727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    90
    71
    58
    96
See reviews for
199
77
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

Don't expect top shelf and you will not be disappointed. Went with my wife and 2 son’s ages 15 & 21 for 4 days and had a wonderful time. We had a 1-bedroom and it was small, but had enough room for all of us as we did not do much in there except eat a few meals and sleep. You do hear the neighbors above you unless you are on the third floor (lots of loud bumps – was afraid someone was coming through the ceiling at times). It must have been a family with some jumpy kids. Lucky us. Room was clean, did not have an oven – just a stove top w/ 2 burners and a microwave. We used the outside grill to cook steaks & salmon one night – one was too rusted to use, but the other 2 were good to go. Pool was smaller than expected, but OK. Did notice some tiles missing, so they could do some maintenance to make it nicer. Got a bit crowded during the afternoon. Breakfast is not real good. Fills you up, but not a lot of variety (fake scrambled eggs – yuck).

Activities that made our trip were the Segway Tour and Schliterbahn. The Segway Tour is awesome. They take you around the old historical part of the island and around the seawall and takes about 2 hours.

For a quick get-away, which is what we needed, this was just right. We did not have high expectations and got what we paid for.

Actually going back to Galveston in 3 weeks with my wife for a reunion, but will be staying at a bed & breakfast in the historical district for a more romantic setting. Will do the tour of the Tree Sculptures when we go back as we did not have time this trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandMfromAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

i came to this hotel with my husband for our honeymoon. when we came to check in the desk person who helped us out was very wonderful and helpful. the room as nice and cozy. we had a room over looking one of the pool and had a really great view of the beach. when we need more towels they were brought to us every fast. everyone was so nice and helpfull. the breakfast was really great and the hours were great. we will be coming back next year. cant wait to have my family come down for our family trip. i will be coming back here alot.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilkriskris88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

Staff was nice. Two bedroom, only one tub and very very small.
Fire alarms went off several times within 10 minute period. No one knew what to do. Checked out after first night and stayed at the Hampton which was very accommodating.
One of the worst places I have ever stayed.
Rooms were very small. Towels were scarce.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porchbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steckgal, General Manager at The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
The Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham, Galveston is part of the Victorian Resort and Conference Center. We strive to give the best service possible and to attend to our guests needs. We have 330 individually owned condos with approximately 200 of which are part of the Hawthorn Suites side of the property. Each condo is individually owned and decorated with different tastes. We offer seven different unit types that can sleep up to 8 persons. All of our 1 bedroom condos offer a separate room with a queen bed, a queen sofa bed and either a set of bunk beds, daybed or desk located in the alcove. Our 2 bedroom condo offer two separate queen bedrooms, one and a half bath, a queen sleeper sofa and either a set of bunk beds, daybed or a desk in the alcove area. The one bedroom condo can sleep up to 6 and the two bedroom units can sleep up to 8. We offer daily towel and trash service during your stay.

During your stay please let our hotel staff know if there is any we can do to make your stay more comfortable.

All of our condo’s have private Gulf-view balconies, family-friendly recreational features which includes two theme swimming pools (one that is kid-friendly and fun), two hot tubs, a lighted tennis court, fitness center and picnic/barbecue area with a fish cleaning station.

Since all of our condos are individually owned, some have full time owners and a number of the other condos are rented out by either the owner or a third party. When making your reservation please ask about our different price points based on the furnishings and location of the condo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Galveston hotels

Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

We used to stay all the time for the last 7yrs at least, ive seen a big difference i asked for childrens pool view didnt get it -no toilet paper just the role that was half way used-the air condition didnot work they finally got it working around 1:30 am took about an hour to cool so ended up in bed around 3:00am omg the beds sucked everything is so outdated the breakfast used to be way better, the balcony was wobbely the screws were allmost out i wouldnt let my children out on it we were on third floor, it also smelled like urine.I asked for asomething back on room since the air didnt work but 7 hrs they said they would give me 21.00$ back on my credit card.What a joke! Still waiting for refund probely will never happen. i know what will happen never staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank purplelady32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

This place is a nightmare ... our room was so dirty I went and bought Lysol and other cleaners. There was no way I was walking on the floor without shoes. The kitchen sink, tap and water handles were gross. The stove top had cooked on food stuck on it. The bathtub had soap scum from 1970 stuck on it and every corner of this place was black. The screen slider to outside was so rusted I was thinking I should go update my tetanus shot before I touched it. The patio furniture was in terrible condition. The security lock was smashed off the entry door and was told it would be fixed and it never was. Our first room the water handles on the shower were missing so we were moved and were given this dump. I took photos so I do have proof.
The view was great and so was the pool. Wont be returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ralston0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leakey, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for the Memorial day weekend. We were in town for a wedding on the Strand. My other relatives who payed a bit more for their hotel rooms came over to visit since we had a balcony and an ocean view. They were shocked that I had this place and space for almost the same price of their small boxy rooms at a "fancier" hotel. We have stayed at 4 and 5 star resorts and this is NOT one of those. But, the price and the atmophere is right for a nice get away weekend if you dont want to break the bank and you arent looking for pristine perfection you will love this place.
We are the type of folks that feel really boxed in without a balcony to go out on in the evening. We never felt crowded even on the busy holiday weekend. The pools are shut down at exactly 10pm. This seemed to alleviate loud party goers. We didnt use the beach any where near these condos-- although there were some decent places. We found the greatest spot out past Jamaica Beach ( FYI: it doesnt look a bit like Jamaica--LOL) that was not over crowded and we could drive our vehichle right on the beach where we wanted to hang out.
We had such an amazingly relaxing time that we even decided to stay an extra night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connietexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.0 mi away
Commodore on the Beach
Commodore on the Beach
#35 of 52 in Galveston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center

Property: The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center
Address: 6300 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2219 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Galveston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort And Conference Center
Hawthorn Suites Galveston
The Victorian Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing