We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accidentally discovered a great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Accidentally discovered a great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We came down to Galveston just for one night, during the last weekend of spring break. We stumbled onto the Victorian without even knowing what we were looking for...we were only looking for any available room.
The hotels amenities included several nice pools and hot tubs, suite type rooms with full kitchenette and a wonderful balcony. Staff were extremely helpful with everything, and we enjoyed our stay, even though it was short. Our only real regret was that we didn't have more time to stay and enjoy the room and other hotel amenities.
Our only complaint would be that some of the things in the kitchen seemed outdated...not a real problem for us. Also, if they had any form of continental breakfast or coffee available in the morning, we couldn't find it. We probably would have asked if we had been staying more than the one night. Even so, wonderful place that we will definitely return to.
Our room was 9110 and we stayed on Saturday, March 16th, 2013. -Amy and Edmond Sunday

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    84
    64
    54
    91
See reviews for
181
72
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at The Victorian for one night prior to a cruise departing out of Galveston. The hotel grounds and pool areas are well maintained and attractive. Our room was clean, nicely decorated and included Galveston history themed art. With a nice view of the ocean, its enjoyable to relax on the balcony or to have the door open filling the space with a fresh ocean breeze.

It was very comfortable for the four of us although six can be accommodated: Two in the bedroom, two on the sleeper sofa and two in the hallway bunk beds.

I'm a runner and enjoy the location because its easy to get up in the morning, cross the street and run the seawall. The new Pleasure Pier is about two miles away, a perfect destination for a long walk along the beach on a breezy day or evening.

There is a Starbucks around the corner and a new Jimmy Johns sandwich shop adjacent to the hotel. With many good restaurants and retail shops along the seawall, this location is convenient for beach during the day and other attractions else for the evening.

The Victorian also offers cruise parking for the week, at a reasonable fee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The victorian is a nice place and i enjoyed my stay. It has two huge pools one is heated and the other has a mushroom for the kids. I love the kitchen we cooked in during the week and went out to eat on the weekend. The hot tub was my favorite part because i love the water and since it was cold i got in the hot tub and it warmed me right up. also the balcony was big one night we slept outside. The view was amazing we were facing the ocean and every morning we ate breastfast outside. We kept our door open most of the trip. we are already planning a trip back. We stay in room 2303 and stay February 27th - March 3 2013.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor have a amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karimalya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The people are veery friendly. The rooms are a little dated but not really that bad if you get off season pricing. The internet is HORRIBLE!. Very flaky and they change the password often. When I first got here they kept the room stocked well with towels etc. as time went on they only came by once a week. 5 towels for 7 days???? Glad the wife inst with me or we would be out of towels in 2 days. I had a light bulb out in the main entrance for 2 months before I begged them to change it. You would think the maid could have called someone. TV has very few channels. Most hotels have more channels than you can watch. Its not a bad place but you can find better places on the island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_doe_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a fabulous place to stay on the sea wall. Me and my 3 children stayed February 22-24 in room 3119.The balcony was huge! My kids could run around on it. The great thing about this place is that they have plenty of beds, our room had a private bedroom with a queen bed and tv, plus bunkbeds and the lving room has a couch/ fold out queen size bed and there is also a tv in the living room. It also has a mini kitchen with a fridge/freezer, microwave, and stove top burner. There is a dining table that seats 4 and a bar with a single chair. The best way to describe it is as a small apartment. There is plenty of room to go with your family and be able to relax in your own condo.

They offer 2 large swimming pools, one is heated and the other has a giant mushroom with water flowing out of it for the kiddos. Very Nice! Since it was kind of cold when we went, my family and I got to enjoy one of two hot tubs. It was very clean, hot and bubbly! Not to mention the one of the hot tubs can fit up to 16 people. There are also bbq pits available outside and picnic tables.

They have a 2 night stay minumun. At night they have a security guard that checks incoming vehicles. I felt very safe staying here. Also, my daughter got sick while we were here, and the cleaning lady came to help me and she was very polite and not at all bothered by helping me trade out all of our towels and blankets that my daughter threw up on.

I will most definately go back to The Victorian and I would definately reccomend this place to my friends.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the same, you have the option of being by the pool or closer to the seawal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night before leaving for our cruise. We had a 2 bedroom condo and I had stayed here before about 5 years ago. The furniture is a little dated and the bedrooms are the smallest bedrooms I have ever seen. But for one night it was fine. They have a free shuttle to the cruise port if you book the cruise package with your reservation. It was very hard to get the luggage cart in the elevator. It is a very dated property and not a good bargain. $300.00 a night for a 2 bedroom condo is a bit pricey for a old and wore out property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollijean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We used to stay here many years ago regularly when it was a nice respectable place. It is the slums now. These are nothing more then section 8 type apartments rented by the night. Many questionable people loitering the area. Rooms were absolutly fithy and disgusting. We were awaken by food wrappers in the middle of the night. There was a huge rat in the kitchen going through our chips! Not a little mouse, but a huge RAT! It ran inside the fold out matress. We turned it around to find a huge hole in it. Thank god we did not sleep on the fold out. They moved us rooms to another slum room but atleast it was rat free. When we checked out, the manager was SO RUDE. Never in my life had I been treated so badly and disrespected at a hotel. Don't be fooled by the nice appearence on the outside. It's a whole different thing once you get a closer look. Stay at casa del mar if you need a suite like we needed. It's nicer and cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tito q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda H, Front Office Manager at The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay with us. We are a bit confused, however, about your review. You stated that you stayed with us August of 2012. We don't understand why you are just now commenting--seven months after the fact. We have gone back over all of our computer records, as well as, our written records for that time period, and we were not able to find a reference to any of your stated issues. We also noticed that you negatively rated several other properties months after your stay with them.

Please feel free to e-mail us or call us directly to discuss your concerns. We need to know the number of the condo in which you stayed, the exact dates of stay, and your name.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center

Property: The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center
Address: 6300 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Galveston)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Condo-Hotel Resort And Conference Center
Hawthorn Suites Galveston
The Victorian Hotel Galveston
Galveston Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing