We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valet parking cost me”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Valet parking cost me”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2005

A friend from Colorado joined me in Galveston at the Tremont. We drove down from Conroe and enjoyed everything up to the check out time when the car was brought to the front to load. The right headlamp and casing was shattered. I reprted to the desk, An hour later they responded.
Tremont stated they had questioned the bellman who parked it and he said he had not done this damage. When I walked down to the lot from the hotel, there was my headlamp glass and part of the casing on the ground next to the post he obviously had hit when parking it.
Up until this point we had enjoyed a great restaurant, service and accomodations. Do not assume your car is safe unless you take photoes and document the condition of your car before the valet service parks your car.
I have a long memory and have spent hundreds of dollars in Galveston since that time but never at the Tremont. Try San Louis Resort. They stand behind the consumer.

  • Stayed July 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank bjbssw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    488
    165
    63
    47
See reviews for
445
973
67
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2005

This hotel was great, the room was HUGE, price was very reasonable. If you register online with Wyndham ByRequest (it's free!) you get a free snack or fruit basket, and bottle water or beer, upon arrival. As a Wyndham ByRequest member you also get free WiFi internet access in the room. Connection was fast and reliable.

Only thing I wish it had was a covered parking garage. Only valet parking was available, but I don't like to valet my cars. Street parking was available as well, you would just have to wake up early to feed the meters.

The area of the hotel is on the other side of the beach, but it's a short drive away. It's located in The Strand, with a lot of little shops within walking distance. We loved the neighborhood. There are excellent restaurants within walking distance. We enjoyed the Saltwater Grill.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank ayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2005

My husband and I just returned from the Tremont House. We stayed at the hotel for the weekend of June 10-12. We took the trip to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary. He did a great job of picking the perfect place for us to stay.

We did do the $10 vallet parking at the hotel. It was so nice just to pull up to the hotel and not worry about the car's safety or our luggage. The staff was extremely nice and helpful when we checked in. The hotel is so beautiful and classy. We ate dinner at the hotels restaurant that first night. The food was really good but be prepared to spend a lot of money there. We went for it because we had something to celebrate and wanted to make it special. And it was also nice because we could hear the piano in the lobby so it made for a nice romantic atmosphere. After dinner,(this was the best part of our experience) we went up on the rooftop deck and had a cocktail. I had some kind of Lemonade something that was excellent and my husband just had a beer. We went around 7:30-8:00pm which was the perfect time because the sun was setting and there was a breeze. You get a wonderful view of the strand area and just the great ending to a great day.

We got just the standard room for our stay. And it was just perfect for us. I loved the high ceilings in the room. And i don't remember anytime during our stay hearing any noise from another room or the hall.

The location of the hotel is wonderful. We spent the whole Saturday walking and looking at the shops on the strand. We ate at Joe's Crab Shack for lunch. (a little pricey but we got to sit right next to the window and look at the boats coming in. It was very nice) We also attended a play at the Strand Theatre right across from the hotel on Saturday night. We had a blast!!!!!!! If we would have stayed another day we probably would have gone to moody garden's. We had heard that it was fun. But it was nice just to stay around the hotel area to relax and have a great time. Everything was in walking distance for us. Lots of restaurants and shops. We did not go to the beach area. We had made day trips to Galveston in the past and wanted to try something different. It was a perfect weekend! We would definitley stay at the Tremont again. Thanks to my husband for planning a great anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crofton, md
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2005

My husband and I stayed at The Tremont while visiting Texas this past weekend. We had never been to Galveston and were expecting a nicer beach area, but couldnt have asked for a better hotel experience. The Tremont is by far the nicest hotel in the Galveston port area. The room was beautiful and clean, nice and cozy. There were wonderful shops and restaurants within walking distance as well. Valet was a bargain at only $10 a day.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GROOMANDBRIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2005

This hotel has been a favorite of mine and my husbands for the past 10 years.
It has wonderful history and you feel very special here...they treat you so well.
the rooms are so nice with very tall ceilings and an old world feel.
birdcage elevators and an antique bar at the bar area. also large palm trees and huge plump soft beds.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hobored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2005

We stayed at this hotel in March 2005 for 2 nights on a pre-cruise stay and booked through our cruise line at $408 for 2 nights. This was overpriced. My family of four and I had an extremely large room with 2 double beds and sitting area, air conditioning and a ceiling fan, which was needed due to the high ceilings and warm weather. The hotel is within walking distance of the"historic downtown area."

The complaint we have is that the hotel front desk staff were not helpful and could not answer simple questions about places to eat, things to do or provide us information on obtaining a bus schedule. There was no concierge service and no one seemed to know what was going on.

During our stay a storm went through and knocked out electricity in our bathroom, as well as our air conditioning and ceiling fan. For about 10 hours we were without electricity and not once were we asked if we needed anything.

However, overall the hotel was clean and spacious. There was no pool in the hotel, however, we could have used the pool at their sister hotel, The Hotel Galvez, however you had to take a shuttle bus to get to it, it was too far to walk to.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holley, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2005

This was our first trip to Galveston and not knowing our way around, we decided to stay at the Tremont based on trip advisor reviews. It was fabulous--immaculate, beautiful rooms, and nice location. We could walk to shopping, restaurants, the Storm Movie, and the Off-shore Oil Rig Tour. The beach is a short drive away and the hotels on the beach looked quite tired. Breakfast in the hotel dining room was excellent and not pricey. We were told there was no self-parking but didn't want to do the valet thing (tipping!), so we drove around the block and parked in the same lot as the Tremont valet used for only $5 per day. We were able to get to our car very easily. Would definitely stay there again. Check out the rooftop balcony--great view. Nice place to eat was Yaga's one street over from the Tremont--outstanding Bahama Mama! Also try the Phoenix Cafe--wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank FANDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing