We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    451
    154
    55
    43
See reviews for
403
881
65
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. I appreciated being upgraded to a suite, which was big enough to get lost in. I wish the rooms had a refrigerator and the hotel didn't file my tax exempt status correctly, but the staff were friendly and did take care of it when I brought it to their attention. Room and bathroom were very clean and it's close proximity to The Strand was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay at The Tremont House. We are pleased that you enjoyed your suite and happy to hear that our staff was able to correct the issue that you mentioned. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wonderful old style boutique hotel in downtown just off the Strand, with turn of the century charm and architecture. We stayed one night while looking at property on the island; it's one of the few Galveston hotels that will book shorter stays in summer. Off the beach, so it's quiet and less gritty. Old style lobby with smallish bar at one end and jazz trio playing most nights. Rooms are smaller but very clean, quiet, comfortable and well furnished. Walk to the Strand, opera house, and several nice restaurants and bars. Rooftop bar is a nice touch for an evening cocktail We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoustonTexatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the complimentary review on your stay at The Tremont House. We hope you had luck in your property search. Thank you for mentioning our jazz and rooftop bar. We offer live jazz on Friday and Saturday nights and the rooftop is open Tuesday through Saturday, weather permitting. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for a quick overnight getaway, the lobby and bar were very nice but our room was not the best. Bathroom was older and room service messed up our order. Overlooking an ugly structure that was up for a town event, towered outside our window. Also we had to take a shuttle to the sister hotel in order to enjoy a pool. Over all it was just ok for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonday36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We hope that you did enjoy the pool at the Galvez as well as our Rooftop Bar and Toujouse Bar. Our apologies regarding room service. We hope that you will give us another try in the future and request an atrium room so you can enjoy the live jazz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed at The Tremont Hotel in Galveston, Tx. Service was very good and the room was really comfortable. They do not have a pool but run a shuttle to their sister hotel The Galvez, only takes a few minutes to get there. The roof top bar is very nice and you can watch beautiful sunsets. It is centrally located within walking distance to restaurants and the Strand.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meeoow68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend getaway at The Tremont House. And, we are glad that you had the chance to enjoy our Rooftop Bar. It is open Tuesday through Saturday, weather permitting. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised to find my boss had booked us at this nice of a hotel for a one-night business trip. He must have gotten a decent deal...

Pros: The room. Oh my, the adorable room. I was just enamored with the decor - just enough historical charm mixed with the expected modern conveniences. The bed was clean and super comfy. The bathroom was spotless. Wi-fi is free (as it should be) and fast. There was an open electrical outlet just above the nightstand for me to plug in my phone and laptop (when I was working). It's a huge pet peeve of mine when hotels don't have enough easily accessible outlets in this day and age. Honestly there isn't much more I could ask for in a hotel room. That said...

Cons: The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 - The toilet in the bathroom ran very loudly about once every couple of hours in the night and woke me up. For one night it wasn't worth complaining, but if I had been staying longer I would've needed that fixed. Also, the AC unit was pretty loud when it kicked on. I imagine this has something to do with the older building. When we arrived at the hotel by car, we were coming from the wrong direction for the valet. The valet politely informed us we needed to be on the other side of the street, but it would've been helpful to have a sign or something to let us know that ahead of time. Lastly, the water pressure in the shower left a lot to be desired.

All in all it was a nice stay and I would stay again if affordable and ever found myself in Galveston.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We appreciate the feedback on your stay at The Tremont House. We hope that you'll have more time to enjoy the area and the hotel on your next visit. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your room and the conveniences that you mentioned. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing