We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite island hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
League City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite island hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have stayed at The Tremont House a few times during Mardi Gras festivities. It's an excellent hotel with very clean rooms and an exceptional staff. I always ordered room service the morning of our Mardi Gras parade and had one of their specialty smoothies delivered to my room. It was the perfect pick-me-up!

Room Tip: We stayed in the double-queen room closest to the rooftop bar. Our room had a very nice bar area wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We appreciate your loyalty to the Tremont House, thank you for making us your Mardi Gras destination. We love that you have found our smoothies to be the perfect pick you up. We hope to see you next year. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    488
    165
    63
    47
See reviews for
445
973
67
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Part of this property's charm is its age and history. That being said, some minor renovations inside the rooms and bathrooms of the hotel are in order.
Some of the pros are the wood floors inside the rooms, the high ceilings in the rooms, the location of the property and the wonderful cafe located inside the hotel. Some of the cons are the fact that pets are allowed and may (or may not) have gone to the bathroom on the wood floors in the rooms (eeew!), the old, somewhat dilapidated tiled bathrooms, and the limited room service (presumably due to the fact that the food is made in the same kitchen as the lobby cafe and constrained by their staff/kitchen abilities at the time).

I stayed there with my family for one night and was happy to check out the next day. I think a beach house would have been a better call for us price and comfort - wise. At $300+/night, I expected a bit more.

Room Tip: Our room very closely faced the brick facade of an apartment building. We had to keep our draped cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 700mumtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Tremont House. We appreciate the insight on your stay. As you mentioned, we do allow pets that are 25 pounds or less for a non-refundable fee of $75/pet. Housekeeping is always aware of our pet guests so their stay is addressed and we find that most pets are house-trained. Thanks again and we hope that you visit Galveston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

My fiance and I have always wanted to stay here when we visit Galveston and this past Father's Day was our date. We thought about parking ourselves since parking seemed available but it was a special occasion so we took advantage of valet parking. Each time we called down and asked for our vehicle it was always ready and the attendants were perfect gentleman. Check in was flawless and we headed to our room. As we opened the door we were amazed at the beauty and elegance of the room. And the bed was so comfortable! This is a very special place and within walking distance (couple of blocks) of the Strand. If we would have had a nice to have list, we would have loved to have a small refrigerator in our room. I did call down to the front desk but was told they were available but were $23.00 daily (a bit too much).

All in all, The Tremont House was one of the most elegant hotels we have visited and within walking distance of several shops.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review of the Tremont House, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest and hope you will visit us again on a future trip to Galveston. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel with a super friendly an attentive staff. Special thanks to Melissa at the front desk who always offered fun and useful information about where to go on the island. Large clean rooms, very quick room service!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your compliments of the Tremont House during your stay. We are pleased Melissa was able to direct you to the many treasures our Island holds. Thank you and please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Tremont was a perfect place to stay. The staff was very attentive and provided the best service. We extended our stay practically due to the wonderful setting. We had just spent two days at the Houstonian and the Tremont matched and surpassed in several areas. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We appreciate your glowing review on your recent stay at the Tremont House we love to recieve feedback from our guests. We are so pleased that your stay was perfect and hope you will return on future trips to Galveston Island. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing