We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive for the type of service you receive ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Pros:
-Location near the port and center
-Beautiful decoration
-Good beds
-Good size of rooms
-Amenities
-Bathrobes in the room
-Coffee machine
High ceilings
Free Internet

Cons:

-Unfriendly attitude of many employees:
When arriving the Valet parking/bell boy & receptionist had a cold and unfriendly attitude. As if they were making us a favor. Not a welcoming feeling after paying 260 dlls a night!!!!!

Next day receptionist and valet parking staff were more friendly.

- 17 dlls plus tax per day for Valet parking.

-No service at the bar:
We were at the bar for like 1/2 hour waiting to be served and no one came. It was a full night. However, there was a waitress who actually went to every table but ours. We left of course.

- Not flexible for checking in hours:
We checked in late according to the hotel, around 6:30 am, so we had to pay 260 dlls as if we entered the room a night before. Ok we agreed we were extremely tired after the trip.

In most of the hotels I've stayed around the world (Dubai, Mexico, Europe, etcetera) they are more friendly and customer care orientated and flexible and let us enter the room around that hour without paying as if we entered the room the night before. Extremely Disappointing for this kind of hotel.

-They didn't clean the room:
Since we checked in "late" they didn't clean the room that day.

We were celebrating a birthday and definitively this kind of ruined the celebration. Having the feeling that you're not welcome and unfriendly staff is definitely not worth to pay almost 600 dlls for the stay!!! I'd prefer to go back to the Four seasons chain were you receive quality service!

Staying in a hotel is about service and environment. That's what you pay for. If you fail in this. Reconsidered what you're doing.

Not coming back for sure.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Titamxnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for the feedback on your stay. We are sorry to read that you didn't enjoy the hotel. We would like to explain our room policy. Check-in at our hotel is at 4 p.m. and our hotel has a 72 hour cancellation policy. If you made a reservation to arrive the night before and didn't arrive until 6:30 am the next day then, like at other properties, you would responsible for your room. Our staff is happy to arrange an early check-in, based on room availability, but the earliest time would most likely be late afternoon.

We appreciate you letting us know about the issues regarding service and housekeeping. We will make sure that staff is made aware.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,184)
There are newer reviews for The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 2,184 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Ted And Karen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The rooms were nice, pretty good size, high ceilings. The rooms are updated with newer amenities. We went up to the roof top bar for a couple of drinks and sunset, amazing view of the strand area of Galveston. The negatives were minimal but wife had trouble sleeping due to a faulty fan making a noise, didn't bother me. Valet was speedy and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaellI8222KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Tremont House and had the opportunity to enjoy The Rooftop Bar. Sorry to hear about the fan. We hope that you let our front desk staff know. We hope to see you again soon. By the way, we now offer live jazz on Friday and Saturday nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Cecily F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

The bathroom was very small and had tons of hardened dirt in the corners mixed with old hair, also a useless, rusted non-working heated towel rack.
The bed squeaked, and looked like your Great Grandma's Old Brass bed, there is not much room to move around in that very tiny room.
The extra blankets in the closet looked as though a dog had chewed it. (They really do allow dogs in the hotel rooms).
I am not sure why it is a 4 star hotel .
Ughhhh......do not waste your money and time here unless it's the last place to go.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank TravelLove001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your room at the hotel. We hope that you were able to enjoy the nearby sites as well as our Rooftop Bar. We hope that you might give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here around Christmas of 2013. This is a very elegant hotel!
Rooms are really nice...ours had hardwood floors!
Hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays!
Definitely will be staying here again!
Great hotel with a Great staff!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sumsully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for the glowing review and thank you for staying at The Tremont House during the holidays. We hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
765 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $118 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing