We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dickens ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dickens ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

This is the best place to stay while going to Dickens on the Strand. It's right on the venue with performances in the lobby. Most of the patrons are in costume which adds to the fun. The rooftop bar is nice but we prefer the bar inside. It's absolutely beautiful and the make wonderful Manhattans and martinis. The rooms are quaintly decorated and the service is exceptional.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Tremont House during Dickens on The Strand. We agree that we are an ideal location for this wonderful holiday festival. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,307
    486
    165
    63
    47
See reviews for
444
969
67
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Tremont was a wonderful property. The rooms very spacious, the service impeccable. And we really enjoyed the view from the rooftop bar, although it doesn't open until 5pm. The beds were heavenly. This hotel transports you back in time. Special thanks to Daniel who was very accommodating to my sister who is studying service and hospitality in the hotel/travel business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Pearl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at The Tremont House. And, thank you for mentioning The Rooftop Bar. The Rooftop is open Wednesday through Saturday (weather permitting). As it becomes a little cooler, we do offer Snuggies and heaters but in the case of wind and rain we invite all to enjoy the Toujouse Bar. Please stay with us again and we'll share your compliments with Daniel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
250 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I am staying at the Tremont for two nights and felt I just had to put a post on Tripadvisor because of the high quality of this hotel.
The rooms are large; beautifully appointed; very comfortable king size bed; and mine has a great view over the harbour.
Every thing about this hotel is classy - the reception, the restaurants and bar, and the well trained staff.
I know where I am going to stay the next time I'm back in Galveston - definitely at The Tremont!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Wow, thank you for the glowing review on your recent stay at The Tremont House. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on your stay and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing