We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“upscale Galveston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived in our F250, the Valet ran around to my husband's door. Thanks a lot guys. Lady at the check in desk was polite and prompt. Our room was just like the pictures. High ceilings, lovely hard wood floors, iron bed. The pillow top mattress was wonderful after a full day of actives. The radiator is used as a towel warmer. There is only one mirror in the bathroom. The bar had an interesting array of people that night. Very interesting people watching. They were probably watching us. The roof top bar was closed due to the rain. In general NICE but a little over priced. The location is great by The Strand.

Room Tip: Because of other reviews I asked for a room not by an elevator. Well, we were at the end of the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bootlegger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind review on your stay at The Tremont House. I'm sorry that you weren't able to enjoy The Rooftop Bar. It was just named the #1 Rooftop Bar in Houston by Houston Press. We hope that you enjoyed your people watching the Toujouse Bar. We offer live jazz every Thursday. Please stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,497 - 1,503 of 2,216 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

While staying at The Tremont House we found the inside rooms to be very noisy with the rooms overlooking the lobby and bar area. Noise did not stop until 130am! In addition we had used valet to park our car and when I called for it at 6am they said there was a problem and that someone may have broken into it. They requested I come check it out three blocks away. I had asked for the General Manager to call me twice but never got a response. It is believe that valet never locked the car and left it open all night long. :(

Room Tip: Outside looking to the streets to limit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. And, our sincere apologies regarding the issue with your car. We typically don't have issues in the garage. As you mentioned, the interior rooms face into the atrium which is home to the Toujouse Bar. While some enjoy the music from the bar; others may prefer an exterior room. We hope that you will give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My three days at the Tremont were delightful. My first night was spent in a room with no outside view, so I asked if I could change to an outside view. The staff was very accommodating and my new room was amazing.
It was nice to be near the Strand. Everything is walking distance. Nice restaurants. Everything was great.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an outside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swoods2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled you injoyed your time with us. Please come back the next time your in Galveston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Lovely, elegant hotel. Professional and knowledgeable staff at reception desk and on front door. Given the age of hotel, it has some quirks (our room had no outside window, so not aware of weather) but it's comfortable with timeless features. Unfortunately the weather had closed the rooftop bar but the ground floor bar was welcoming. The area around the hotel has a choice of restaurants and bars. We enjoy walking and headed up to the pier on the south of the island. Pretty empty but it was weekday and wet weather. Would have enjoyed seeing Galveston more energised but, hey, it's a reason for a return visit! Would definitely stay at Tremont House again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveL427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

We appreciate your glowing review on your stay at The Tremont House. Our interior rooms offer a view of our atrium while the exterior views vary. The nice thing about the atrium is that guests can enjoy the music in the Toujouse Bar on Thursdays (Fall Jazz Series) and a pianist on Fridays and Saturdays. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Roslyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Lindsey Q
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
807 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $111 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing