We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room size was much larger than usual room, hotel quiet...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,609 - 1,615 of 2,289 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was impressed with the appearance of this hotel but disappointed with some of the aspects of it. Housekeeping carts were out in the hallways the whole time I was there. The cafe was very disappointing - a long wait at the counter to order: Just one person working there. Menu was not complete. Thought there would be turndown service but there was none. The . work stations with printers are in booths in the cafe- what a strange place to put them! Twice I wanted to use them but people were sitting there eating (and they were NOT using the computers). Would have expected much more from a "grand hotel"

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank MaribethAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We appreciate the feedback on your stay at The Tremont House. We find feedback, such as yours, very helpful and we'll make sure that the appropriate staff see it. I'm sorry that they weren't happy with your stay and the TV/PCs in our restaurant. For your information, we offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby and guest rooms if you have your own computer or tablet. We hope that you will give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during the week (after laborday weekend). Rooms are nice but service is not okay,. The first day they forgot to clean our room. When I told the frontdesk about this, it looked like they weren't surprised at all (no apology). The valet guys are nice and you can use the valet service of the galvez hotel. The strand area looked very deserted (other tourists were complaining about that too). For dinner try Yaga's café, excellent food for a good price.
We were able to get a good deal on this hotel via Expedia.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 25Monique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for the comments on your three-day stay at the hotel. We appreciate your feedback on the service and will share with staff. Please stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

First off, no free parkibg. You can either valet for $17.50 per day or park on the street and feed the meter.

Another old building converted to a hotel. Because of that there is latitude where it needs to be. Check-in was fast and friendly and the hotel lobby was clean.

I must say I'm not crazy about the metal room key but it was functional. The rooms are large, but, as you may expect for such an old building, not loaded with amenities. The bathroom was narrow but long. The toilet was a VERY LOW WATER USAGE toilet which I sometimes wondered if it worked at all. I'm 6' 00" and the shower head was at my chest. I cut my finger on the sharp metal knob that converts the tub to a shower. The marble counter tops had not been maintained and looked like they had not been wiped down in some time. Good hot water. The bed was average as hotel beds go. Temperature adjustment was touchy with the room frequently getting warm, then cool, then warm again. They used queen flat sheets on a king bed so the sheets were not tucked. It was a comforter on top of a sheet on top of a blanket on top of two more sheets. Maybe they were out of king size sheets.

No pool, you have to use the one at the sister property Hotel Galvez. The Tremont is Close to the cruise terminal but not the beach. I would consider everything before deciding to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for your insight on your stay at The Tremont House. We use feedback, such as yours, to continually improve our service and property. Please know that we are sorry for the issues that you mentioned. We are aware of the appearance of the marble countertops. They are clean but we are looking for options to improve the appearance. Thanks again for your insight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I love the rooms here, totally different from what you expect from a hotel. The rooms feel like you are in a victorian home with high ceilings and hard wood floors. This is a very classy hotel and you could tell by the snooty guests. Roof top bar very nice but a little too calm for me. The hotel is located on the strand within walking distance to some great bar hopping. Also the hotel offers transfer to the Galvez hotel where you can use the swimming pool, or walk to the seawall.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaA83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for describing The Tremont House as "classy." The hotel offers something for everyone and, as you mentioned, it's within walking distance of several restaurants and drinking establishments as well as The Grand 1894 Opera House. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in for a long while. Awesome staff (Camden at valet and Keely at concierge), comfortable rooms, and an excellent location for exploring Galveston's Strand District on foot.

Galveston is extremely hot and humid in summer, so even though the lobby is beautiful and formal, you will not feel out of place if you're walking around in shorts and a t-shirt. However, I'm sure there are occasions when there are black tie events at the hotel or their ballroom and wedding garden around the corner.

Tips: My friend and I had similar rooms, but they did not have quite the same layout. Mine was better for two people with computer-charging needs as there were two nightstands, each with easy access outlets. Mine also had a bigger separated tub/wc area from the rest of the bathroom. Meanwhile her room had enough space for a round glass table as a workspace or dining area, and, I'm pretty sure, a full-length dressing mirror outside the bathroom. So perhaps call and ask if you'd like a specific layout.

We had dinner at their restaurant which was surprisingly casual and inexpensive, but super delicious. I don't know if their roast beef is famous, but it should be. However, if you are a night owl or you have kids who want late night snacks after room service closes, you're almost out of luck. They do have a small vending machine tucked away, but definitely go down to concierge and ask directions from there because otherwise you'll need a compass and a map to find it. Better yet, bring granola bars or fruit snacks or whatever your kids might want after hours.

If you're going for Dickens on the Strand in December, make sure to reserve months in advance. Probably Mardi Gras as well.

The Tremont House is a splurge, but I'd love to go back some time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darshan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We appreciate your thorough review on your stay at The Tremont House. As you mentioned, The Tremont Cafe offers casual dining and is open from 6:30 a.m. - 10 pm (Sun-Thu) and 6:30 a.m. - 11 p.m. (Fri & Sat). The hotel is located in the heart of The Strand National Historic Landmark District so there are plenty of attractions, shops and dining options nearby. We hope that you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $121 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing