We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Stop On Texas History Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

An enjoyable stay in an area of Galveston which played such a large part in the history of Texas. The location of the Tremont House still gave us some insight into what our ancestors my have experienced who visited Galveston.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank jdssr2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your review on your stay at The Tremont House. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and the history of Galveston. We hope that you had a chance to visit Pier 21 Theater. The theater features three historic documentaries on Galveston that you would enjoy. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,182)
There are newer reviews for The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,637 - 1,643 of 2,182 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Tremont House Hotel for 2 nights, arriving the 16th May 2013, before boarding our cruise ship.

When arriving at the Tremont, the doormen were very helpful in taking our suitcases from our shuttle up the stairs to reception. Check in was fast and easy and we were given a room on the fourth floor. The reception area is lovely, very open and light with a bar in the left hand corner. There is also a cafe which we did not get the chance to visit in our short stay.

The room was very spacious and very very clean. It was decorated beautifully, with the bed being a gorgeous wrought iron with very comfortable bedding. The bathroom was a good size and again very clean. There were plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries. There is also a good size closet which had one shelf, hanging space and enough room for 4 full sized suitcases if not more. It was a great addition to a already spacious room so you were not tripping over your luggage every two minutes. There was complimentary tea, coffee and water and a good selection of channels on the TV which is neatly hidden in a lovely bureau.

We only visited the roof top bar once and only stayed for one drink as we were very tired after our long flight from the UK. The bar staff were friendly, the Hurricane cocktail I had was lovely and once again, the staff were very friendly.

The Tremont is situated in a great location with lots of lovely bars and restaurants all around it. We were actually spoilt for choice on where to choose to eat! Although we did walk to the cruise ship terminal, there is a free shuttle that needs to be pre-booked to take you to the terminal. Very handy if you have lots of luggage!

Overall, we cannot recommend the Tremont enough, the staff were wonderful and the hotel itself is lovely, clean and very well decorated. We would love to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tink1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review on your stay at The Tremont House before your cruise. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel. We hope that you'll stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at The Tremont House for 2 nights in early June as a little start to summer with my family. We got this hotel on Priceline for $120 compared to the $200 that they charged on Wyndham.com for our 2 Queen Bed room. The hotel, located on Mechanic Street is absolutely beautiful, with a grand lobby and beautiful rooms. Gabriel and Melissa checked us in with a smile to Room 418, which was very large, with a high ceilings and a marble bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and the room in its entirety was spotless and beautiful. We spent 2 of our days at the Hotel Galvez, where Tremont guests are granted full privileges too. The pool there is absolutely wonderful and the poolside service was great as well, with Diana serving us both days. The beach across from the Galvez was nice, but I would go to the side with the chairs and umbrellas to rent, as it made the experience better and well worth the $25 fee (separate from the hotel). We had breakfast at The Tremont Cafe on our last morning and it was pretty good, but I would find a place on the Strand instead if you want a really nice experience, however, Tin was a great server. The one thing that didn't allow mw to give the hotel 5 stars was the terrible valet. They were all very lazy, didnt help with bags and the turn around to get the car was a good 30 minutes making the $17 fee for parking seem worthless. Also, they were terrible at organizing the shuttle to the Galvez. Many times on return to the Tremont, they seemed to "forget" to come and get us requiring the fantastic valets at the Galvez to figure out how to get us back. All in all, I would definitely stay here again despite the issues with the valet, but if you want the true resort experience, make the trip to the Galvez.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustinBeach001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for the thorough review on your stay at The Tremont House. We are pleased that you also took time to visit our sister hotel - Hotel Galvez & Spa. Thank you for mentioning the staff by name who impressed you with their service. My apologies regarding any issued that you experience with valet and the shuttle. We'll make sure that the appropriate staff is aware. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Grear H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Friendly staff and beautiful historical property. Rooftop Lounge provides view of city and the Main Bar area was relaxing and comfortable. The rooms are well sized and very welcoming. On site restaurant has great food and Starbuck's coffee. This property is a perfect place to stay to stay within walking distance to many great restaurants/bars/shopping venues. Lodging $$ are average for the Island in the summer time. It is well worth the $$ to stay at this property!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank gigiroebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for the raving review of The Tremont House. And we'd have to agree about the wonderful location and close proximity to restaurants, shops and more. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I had maintained an apartment in Galveston for the past eight years that was only a block and a half from the beach. So while I had the island experience, I did not spend a lot of time along the Strand and downtown Galveston. Last weekend I had to make a trip to the island and decided to make it a weekend event and experience the artsy side in downtown Galveston. I splurged and stayed at The Tremont House. And I could not have been happier. First, the hotel is first class. Excellent service and a wonderfully appointed room with a comfortable queen-size bed. A drink at The Roof Top bar was the perfect way to start the evening. And you are within walking distance of some excellent restaurants. I valet parked the car Friday and did not get behind the wheel until after I had checked out Sunday. Here is one guest that will be back for more!

Room Tip: For the best price book online.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for the glowing review on your stay at The Tremont House. We are thrilled that you gave us a try. And we love that you enjoyed The Rooftop Bar and all the great dining as well as the art and cultural scene. We hope that you will stay with us again soon. P.S. Don't forget that we are within walking distance to The Grand 1894 Opera House too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Amber Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
764 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $119 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing