We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time in Galveston” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Time in Galveston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wife and I stayed at the Tremont House to attend my nieces wedding which necessitated numerous trips to and from the hotel. The hotel staff, including valets, were super in accommodating our needs for mobility. The staff, décor and ambiance of the hotel is super.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amatuer_Fisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review on your stay at The Tremont House. We hope that you enjoyed the wedding and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,231
    468
    158
    58
    43
See reviews for
414
917
67
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We recently stayed at The Tremont House and enjoyed a very pleasant, and comfortable one night room. The reception at the front door by the bellman was most welcoming after a long drive from Houston's Bush airport. We checked in quickly and were escorted to our room and asked if it met our satisfaction. Of course we were happy with the high ceilings and well designed room and stayed. The bellman gave us some suggestions about the surrounding restaurants and
went out to eat. Upon returning we found a congratulatory anniversary card, a bottle of wine chilling for us, and chocolate dipped strawberries. Nice way to finish a great evening!
Next day we went to our cruise ship via complimentary shuttle. Thanks, Tremont House, for making our stay in Galveston pleasant, easy, and memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brewing8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at The Tremont House . We are happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and that you were pleased with the service. We hope that you had a wonderful anniversary and please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice stay here while celebrating my birthday. There were some disappointing things - there was a hole in the upholstery in one of the chairs in the room, and the toilet ran off and on all night. We had a brownie sundae in the cafe downstairs and the ice cream was crystallized and icy. You expect better from a place like this.

The decor is charming and the bedding is cozy and comfy. Nice view from the rooftop bar.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BethanyinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at The Tremont House. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback on the issues that you experienced. We will make sure that the appropriate staff is aware. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is an excellent choice when staying on the island. Large rooms with extremely comfortable beds and nice big bathrooms. The bar on the top of the roof is a great spot for drinks when the sun goes down. Couple this with great service and you have the perfect place to stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlsmith142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank for your glowing review of your stay at The Tremont House. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and The Rooftop Bar. We look forward to your next visit. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Tremont House on a recent birding trip to Galveston, Texas. The hotel is sparkling clean, attractive, and loaded with amenities. But the "amenity" that stood out for us both was the high quality service. We stayed there for five nights and were greeted warmly each morning and throughout the day. In fact, each time we interacted with a staff member, we walked away smiling.

An example: one evening we had need of something from a drugstore. My husband went down to find the closest CVS. The person at the desk thought a while and said there were several in town, but even the closes was not in walking distance. Well, we had a rented car, but it seemed a hassle to get the car and go. The nice man at the desk got a staff member to drive my husband to the CVS and back. I've never experienced service like that. Kudos.

One evening we were eating dinner, and the waitress came up and gave us a brownie for dessert. Just nice. That's all.

The hotel is close to the Strand and the cruise dock. Good food close by. There is a bar in the lobby and another on the roof with good views.

We were quite charmed by the kindness we found there. And our room was spacious, clean, and well-stocked. Good choice in Galveston.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the lobby. One night some conference attendees were a wee bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katierey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough review on your stay at The Tremont House. We are so pleased that you loved the hotel and your interaction with our staff. We hope that you enjoyed birding on the island and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Here on business and wife accompanied. While meeting she shopped the Strands unique shops. It is an older style hotel with character one block away from The Strand and not far from several restaurants like Fishermans Wharf, Willie Gs, Jimmy Johns, starbucks, Luigis, etc. Rooms ceilings are crown molding with ceiling fans and about 20 ft high. Nice amenities including wifi. Bar and small grill which seemed a little higher than surrounding places. We did not know there was no pool here until arrival but guests can use sister hotel The Galvez if desired. Four floors with some rooms overlooking inside atrium and others looking over street. Parking is a bit scarce so you either pay to valet park $17 day or leave car on street and pay city meter $11. We valeted. All staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay again if wanting Strand area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cthtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review on your stay at The Tremont House. It is good to read that your wife was able to enjoy shopping and dining nearby. As you mentioned, The Tremont House does not offer a pool but Tremont House guests can enjoy access to the pool, spa and restaurant at the nearby Hotel Galvez & Spa. Our hotel also offers a courtesy shuttle for guests. You had also mentioned activities for children. There are several family friendly attractions near the hotel including the Galveston Railroad Museum, Pirates! Legends of the Gulf Coast, Haunted Mayfield Manor, Galveston Harbor Tours, BayWatch Harbor Tours, Jet Boat Thrill Rides and other sites. If you want to drive to family oriented attractions, you'll want to visit Schlitterbahn WaterPark and Moody Gardens. We hope that you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
3.4 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and rental cars offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. The hotel also offers a pool as well as access to the nearby Galveston Health and Racquet Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing