We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Texas Road Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Absolutely great hotel experience. Melissa at the front desk was especially helpful with all types of information and a friendly smile. The upgrade to a 4th floor suite was an additional PLUS!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at The Tremont House. We appreciate your insight and we will share your compliment with Melissa. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,770 - 1,776 of 2,271 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

You can feel the history as soon as you enter the grand old hotel! Very comfortable, quiet & clean. The staff was excellent. It was close to every thing that we wanted to do.
My wife & I loved it, can't wait go back! Everything was clean and neat.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bobno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your positive review on The Tremont House and our staff. We are thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed the hotel. Please stay with us again soon. This is the time of year when Galveston offers events nearly every weekend and many are held in the Historic Strand District.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at Tremont Wyndam after cruise but spent the day at pool and spa at their sister hotel, the Galvez.. Kids spent the day on the beach. Stayed here because of location. My daughter was disappointed as we did not see the ghosts that we read about online! ; )

Room Tip: Would stay here again Tremont has shuttle service to Galvez, Beach and cruise ships here on the hour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your review on The Tremont House. As you mentioned, Tremont House guests have access to our sister hotel - Hotel Galvez & Spa. We also offer a courtesy shuttle. It is great to read that you enjoyed the pool and the beach. And sorry but we don't have control on the ghosts. Please stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Ernest F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's hard to find a decent place to stay in Galveston. There are those big chain hotels on the island along with the small seedy ones. So when I went to visit family after their recent relocation I wanted something with the remnant of what the island used to be before it became the redneck riviera.

The best thing about the Tremont is its history. The bar on the lobby level is also nice. My room had a window, covered only with a sheer curtain, that looked into the main lobby. Not only did it let in light and noise but I had to change in the bathroom for privacy. It was also extremely noisy. There seems to be no sound insulation and it sounded like the wedding party that celebrated into the wee hours was in the room with me.

Most of the employees were friendly and helpful but had limited information on what to recommend. The so-called hotel cafe is the kind of Starbucks you find in Barnes and Nobles bookstores.

If you have smart phone, you can locate locally owned restaurants, cafes, a used bookstore and a few other interesting points to the area. It seems that the employees of the Tremont are familiar only with the chain restaurants and stores that have destroyed the erstwhile ambience that was Galveston.

I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your insight on your stay at The Tremont House. We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. As you mentioned The Tremont House is located in the heart of The Strand Historic District. Some restaurants that you may want to add to your list in case you visit again include Luigi's, Yaga's Cafe, Mediterranean Chef (one block over); Nonno Tony's, and Olympia Grill (at Pier 21); and Star Drug Store, Gumbo Bar, SkyBar, Rudy & Paco's, Saltwater Grill (all on Postoffice). All the restaurants that are mentioned are locally owned and operated. There are others as well. Some nearby chains for people who prefer familiar restaurants include Willie G's, Fuddruckers and Joe's Crab Shack. We'll work with our staff to make sure that they are more informed about what's available nearby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $119 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing