We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely, the only place to stay in Galveston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very simply put, the Tremont has a grand old charm, the absolute best rooms, extremely comfortable beds, clean restrooms and amazing 15' ceilings in the rooms. Guessing about the height, but I am over six foot tall and I like the fact that I have no fear of hitting the ceiling fan. If you want to impress, forget the other hotels; they are just hotels, the Tremont is the destination. Also has a decent work out room. Your room key gets you into the swimming pool at the Hotel Galvez, a sister hotel.

Located downtown, one block from the Strand, offers a great morning or evening walk, very few tourists in the morning and the gulf breeze is nice. Also within walking distance of the Star Drugstore, best breakfast in Galveston, try the French toast on French toast.

There is a feel to the Tremont that makes you really appreciate all the small touches. Beautiful lobby, great bar, (I must confess, I've not eaten at the restaurant, so can't make a call there, but I hear it is good), glass elevators, simply a place done right. Open roof balcony on the weekend is pleasant with a nice drink from the bar.

Staff are always friendly and accommodating. Most often, the prices are only slightly higher than a one/two-star hotel in Galveston and less than the so-called luxury hotels. I stayed the first time on a whim, but since will not book any other hotel in Galveston. There is a unique blend of modern conveniences and historical charm to the hotel. I'm glad the Wyndham corp. has kept the grace of the old hotel.

I would give the Tremont an Excellent rating except for the parking, (on the street or valet (valet is a bit high to me $17.00 per night) and the inconvenience of having the car called each time you need it). Other than parking, there is not a single issue I can name and I am good at finding issues.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite rooms on the north side of the hotel. The rooms are not all suites and are the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATXMCRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Wow! Thank you for the glowing review of The Tremont House. We appreciate that you have such high regard for the hotel. We hope that you will stay with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,778 - 1,784 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

I made this reservation to stay the night before our cruise ship was to leave for our honeymoon. I remembered the name from staying when I was very young, so I was a little worried that it might be really old and stale. To my surprise it was neither. Of course it is an old, historical hotel but it's very up to date with modern features and very clean. We loved it! It's in a good location on the Strand so you can easily walk to shopping and restaurants. The staff was very nice!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay at The Tremont House. We are sorry to hear that your cruise was cancelled but we are thrilled that you loved The Tremont House. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

First the good... very nice historical hotel in the heart of the Strand District. The rooms are very unique and clean. Our room had two windows that had to be 10 feet high. The beds were comfy and there was plenty of seating in the two queen room. The staff was friendly, the bar was nice and the place was very quiet. You also get to use the awesome pool at the sister site, the Galvez. Paid valet parking covers your parking at the Galvez as well. The not so good for us (but still deserving of a very good rating)... self parking was limited to the city street (lots of folks did it, its just out of my comfort zone) and valet parking parked your car securely down the street so take in what you need from the car if you use the valet. The hotel entry is stairs but the valet guys are "not always" available to take your bags up the stairs (use the wheelchair elevator if desprate). We didnt care for the breakfast menu downstairs at the hotel cafe and opted to walk to Starbucks a few blocks down. Cruising after your stay? The cruise terminal is two blocks away and your valet charge ($18) wlll allow you to keep your car at the Galvez's parking garage during the cruise. You have to take the shuttle to and from the Galvez. Would recommend a stay here to friends

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suspect_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at The Tremont House. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the hotel and your room. My apologies regarding the parking. As you know, The Tremont House is located in the heart of Galveston's Strand Historic District which is also our central business district so paid parking is necessary but parking is free on Sundays. Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the breakfast options but we are within walking distance to several restaurants that offer breakfast as well. We hope that you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I've heard about Tremont for a long time, but never made it there - until now. It's everything you'd want in an historic hotel. They have managed to maintain the charm of the old design and architecture, while making tons of modern day improvements for comfort. Staff was super friendly - from the valet, to front desk, bar, & housekeeping. If you look at a map - you'll see it's not near a beach - but it is in the middle of the historic Strand shopping district and the beaches are a short drive away. For me it was a nice balance of location.

Room Tip: My room was in a part of the hotel that felt like an annex and my room looked different (nicer) than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATXMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for the glowing review on your stay at The Tremont House. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel. As you mentioned, The Tremont House is located in the heart of Galveston's Strand Historic District and is just a mile from the beachfront and our sister hotel - Hotel Galvez & Spa. We hope that you were able to experience The Rooftop Bar which is open Wed - Sat, weather permitting. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $119 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing