We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecellent accommodations and service- we used the meeting...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,184)
There are newer reviews for The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,705 - 1,711 of 2,184 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Excellent service, friendly staff and they can not do enough for you. The rooftop bar is unfortunately only open Wednesday to Saturday. Rooms are spacious and clean and the location is perfect for shopping, entertainment and culinary attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicke07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for the positive feedback on your stay at The Tremont House. We appreciate your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had 10 rooms reserved for ten state employees. From the moment we walked in we were in love with the hotel. Beautiful lobby and very spacious. We all loved our rooms and one of us even had a spooky encounter with a happening in her bathroom. After hearing her story, we are now believers of these encounters. Back to the room, loved, loved the bathroom. I now want to remodel my bathroom to match it. Loved the large room, high ceiling and the décor. My room was right off the 4th floor elevator and it was very quiet. Highly recommend this hotel and will definitely go back again. Next time I hope it's a little warner so I can spend some time at the Roof Top Bar. Stunning views!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmcdonald48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your flattering review of The Tremont House. We are pleased that you and your group enjoyed the hotel and please visit us again soon so you can enjoy The Rooftop Bar in warmer temperatures. By the way, The Rooftop Bar is open Wednesday - Saturday (weather permitting).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I booked the Tremont House to celebrate a nice evening with my husband. I normally stay at Hilton hotels, but thought something a little more historic might be nice. The first impression was not great - there is no parking garage. You must either valet ($17 per night) or pay for street parking (who wants to watch a meter when you're parked overnight?). We do not like to valet our car (and allowing valets to drive our car, which they are generally quite rough with the vehicle). So, we grudgingly had to valet.

After checking in, the room they gave us was defective (in our opinion). The TV was set off to the side, completely 90 degrees from the bed, so you couldn't watch it from the bed even if you pulled the TV out, and craned your neck. Thankfully, they did quickly and with graciously offered us another room with the TV straight on. The staff at the hotel is accommodating, I was pleased to discover.

The hotel itself is small but interesting. We went up the rooftop and checked out the view from the rooftop bar. Again, very small, but nice views. The room had terrifically a tall ceiling, and was clean and comfortable. We did enjoy our room very much.

So, the terrible surroundings...after we checked in, we thought we would walk to the Strand district and find someplace to eat. I thought it would be this quaint district with plenty of restaurants to choose from, and shops. No. At approximately 7 pm on a Thursday evening, the blocks were all but deserted, all of the shops closed at 6 pm (even La King's confectionary, which I had wanted to get some ice cream at), and there were several bars (they looked devoid of people), but only a few restaurants on the actual Strand street (right behind the hotel). There was a guy passing out menus to a Mediterranean place hoping to talk us into eating there.

We decided to walk toward Postoffice street, and explore some of the other blocks (21st through 25th street). Again, very deserted. We probably only saw less than 15 people the whole time. The only decent places that looked like I might want to eat there was the Saltwater Grill (on postoffice - looked nice decor), and Black Pearl (a seafood place, only about a block from the hotel). Everything else was either closed or looked questionable.

We ended up walking about for over an hour trying to find a decent place to eat. Eventually we walked back towards the waterfront, and found the Fisherman's Wharf, Willie G's, and a new place called Nonno Tony's. We ended up eating at the last place, which I will give a Glowing Review for (see review for Nonno Tony's).

Overall, the hotel was nice (except for the parking situation), but I would not stay there again because the surroundings were eerily deserted and creepy.

Room Tip: Be prepared to valet park your car. Which we hated doing.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The Tremont House. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences that you experienced regarding the parking. As you mentioned, guests do have the option to self park on the street. There is no charge for parking at the meters after 6 p.m. and before 9 a.m. Within walking distance of the hotel, you'll find Saltwater Grill, Rudy & Paco's, SkyBar, Gumbo Bar and other establishments on Postoffice Street. On the Strand, there's Mediterranean Chef, Luigi's Yaga's and the newly opened Fuddruckers for casual fare. We are thrilled that you mentioned Pier 21, there are four restaurants there - Fisherman's Wharf, Willie G's, Nonno Tony's and Olympia Grill.

As you can imagine, many of the shops on The Strand and Postoffice Street are locally owned and they tend to close at 6 p.m. during the off season. After Memorial Day, many offer extended hours. We hope that you stay with us again this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
765 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $118 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing