We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dainty house at the heart of Galveston!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Located merely five minutes from the sea wall, the Tremont House is a small and pretty hotel with a quiet and clean atmosphere that attracts a mature crowd/families. The rooms have a European charm and traditional decor. While the hotel has a beautiful rooftop bar, it lacks a pool. However, all guests do share pool privileges at the Galvez (which is located right on the sea wall across the beach and pleasure pier) ..so we never felt the lack of pool. We spent a lot of our day alternating between the beach and the pool at the Galvez.. and with access to the towels/shower/change room/bathroom/pool bar and restaurant at the Galvez we found our beach visits extremely convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful and they were extremely cooperative with our late checkout. Needless, the Tremont House will be the only hotel I book at every time I visit Galveston.

Room Tip: I booked through "name your own price" on Priceline by choosing a four star hotel in Galve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vasooda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,915 - 1,921 of 2,203 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was a nice getaway for three days. It was so quiet and relaxing...loved the rooftop bar! The Tremont staff were all so friendly and helpful. Our room was large and very clean...a must. Very close to the Strand for shopping and restaurants.
Great experience...will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Upon driving up you see a beautiful building that perfectly highlights the history and charm of Galveston.

The parking attendants were great, friendly and eager to assist. Walking in, the lobby was less than busy so straight to the desk we went.

We were greeted by an initially kind and friendly woman who was quick to inform us that our reserved room was not ready. I informed her that I was not able to stay in a smaller room since I had my wife and kids.

Following into the conversation came Tyler. He was abrupt, rude and unwilling to assist. He told us that we would have to sit at the bar and wait and that the housekeeping department was behind and that there was nothing they could do about it.

Sitting at the bar would normally be ok, but, with three kids. This obviously was not an option. He rudely picked up the phone and called housekeeping all the while insisting we sit at the bar. We were at the property hours after check in time.

Generally, this type of attitude would provoke less than kind words from me on the spot, however, my kids were present.

Based on his attitude alone, I would not recommend this property. With rooms as nice as they are at a propert as nice as this is, one should be able to expect a certain level of customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank peakload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Wonderful staff, beautiful hotel, clean, well maintained, and quiet. This is an amazing hotel and very unique. The staff was really nice. During check-in, the gentleman was very helpful, the wonderful housekeeping staff accommodated my every need, the young ladies in the casual dining area put up with my use of the computer (and table) without making a purchase. The valet guys were very sweet, even though we didn't valet. The rooms were very chic with high ceilings and beautiful tile in the bathroom. It is in the Strand area and not close to the beach (which means safer to me). I did notice a bus stop close by. Parking is valet at about $18 a day (with unlimitted in/out privledges) or you can meter park (in the evenings it is free until 9AM). A REALLY wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lorena, Texas, USA
11
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We booked two rooms for four people. Our stay was fantastic. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay again on our next cruise. From valeting the car at the Valdez to shuttling our group the next morning to the Carnival Lines and picking our group up when we returned five days later. Wonderful!!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

This stay was a business trip for my husband who was having a meeting at the hotel for two days. So, my daughter(who's a toddler) and I tagged along. Upon arrival to the hotel, we did not notice any parking besides meter parking that was full. It was a $1.25 an hour. So we had no choice but to do valet. Valet guys were terrific & very acommodating. Lobby of hotel was historic looking and welcoming. We had a king room on the fourth floor. Note**(We did not have to pay for room). The room was huge & had very high ceilings & wood floors. Bed was very comfortable. Had Down bedding. Floors had crumbs behind furniture. Furniture was outdated. Was afraid the certain parts of the bed were going to come apart. The night stands had a marble slab for the top that could easily be bumped around or even off. Just an old historical hotel that was outdated and definitely not toddler friendly. You have to take a shuttle to sister hotel " The Galvez" if you want to swim in a pool. Hotel food was average and of course overpriced, as hotel food normally is. Had to use a lift to get up to lobby with a stroller because there were quite a few steps. Would not have paid the price that they wanted for the room we stayed in. Was not worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trendytraveler0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Really a superior hotel. Historic building, but completely modern and updated. Spacious room. I would definitely recommend this hotel. In downtown, so not walking distance to the beach, but 5 minutes by car. 15 minutes to the waterpark. Great valet service, with the valets constantly trying to direct you where you need to go.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saintsfan71457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
781 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $118 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing