We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

It was very nice. Comfy bed. Nice room. A little pricey, but very nice. REALLY liked the rooftop bar. HIGHLY recommend this hotel. Convenient to The Strand and many great restaraunts. It does not have a pool. They will take you via car over to The Galvez. It seemed MUCH nicer than The Galvez. The pool at the galvez was a disapointment due to the ambience. The pool was very nice, swim up bar, etc., but there were a ton of kids running around being obnoxious and a bunch of really drunk people, too. Staff at galvez was a little rude. Glad I got to go back over to The Treemont. The Treemont seemed to attract an older, less rowdy crowd than The Galvez while there seemed to be more of a spring break crowd at The Galvez even though it wasn't spring break. Staff and valet were very helpful. Again, highly recommend. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibackbevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,374
    503
    175
    64
    49
See reviews for
468
1,015
71
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Tx.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at the Tremont House for two nights and were well pleased. The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff was extremely courteous right down to the valet parkers. The only thing we did not like was that there is not a pool but you can use the one right down the street at the Galvez. There was a fire alarm at 6:30 one morning and everyone sleepily made their way to the lobby. After the fire department declared a false alarm, we advised the staff that the PA announcement in our room was not loud enough to be heard clearly and we reassured that she would pass on the information to to engineering staff. Overall, it was a good experience and I would recommend the Tremont House.

Room Tip: Use Priceline
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed here the night prior to a cruise. This hotel is located in the Strand area of Galveston - you can walk to many restaurant and shops. It is also located very near the port of Galveston and offers free parking for cruise passengers at its sister property - the Hotel Galvez. You can also take a shuttle to the Galvez and use their facilities, which include a swim-up bar and beach access. (I did not do this, but some friends did and said it was beautiful.)
The hotel itself is absolutey beautifual and their staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. The bell staff was very knowledge of the area and offered many suggestions for things to do. Front desk staff was also very accomodating and friendly. i would definitely stay here and again and give it my highest recommendation!

Room Tip: Check Internet sites for discount rates, but call to check for additional specials - we got a 2 for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_RSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel Fire, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The Tremont House is a gem! The Strand is literally around the corner providing many shops, art galleries and tasy restaurants with fun atmosphere. The hotel itself features two fun and friendly upscale bars, one on the rooftop. The fitness center is exceptional and the rooms are very comfortable. Bath robes and a towel warmer are nice touches as well as premium toiletries. Close to the cruise terminals. The Tremont is a sister property to the Hotel Galvez which is made available for a fabulous pool and spa experience...you can even charge items at the Galvez to your Tremont bill! All employees are helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view from the fourth (top) floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahMorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The staff are the best staff in the business, I can't remember when customer service mattered so much. The rooms were amazing, very high ceilings and nice beds. We booked through a third party and were upgraded at no charge. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Absolutely amazing hotel. From the minute we turned up to the minute we checked out, it was a dream. Our suite was just beautiful, absolutely immaculate with the most comfortable bed. The staff were lovely and nothing was a problem. If you are going to Galveston, stay here. Also the rooftop bar is a must, great way to spend an evening and watch the world go by while sipping on the yummy white sangria :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethDuffell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Last minute plans usually mean trouble when traveling but The Tremont was a lovely surprise! Spacious room, courteous valet attendants (although an additional charge), extremely clean room and a rooftop lounge for relaxing with our married children and spouses. We were one street off The Strand so shopping, etc was an easy walking distance. Had a great Sunday brunch at their sister hotel, The Galvez, out on the sea wall. You have to valet for that and its pricey but we've been a half a dozen times and always return for the unending mimosas and crab claws! The room service breakfast at the Tremont House was quick and above average as were the brick oven pizzas down stairs for an easy supper. We loved our weekend at The Tremont and plan to return but I wouldn't have wanted to be there with young children who expect to swim because there is no pool on site although the pool at The Galvez is available but a 15-20 min drive away.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2300 Ships Mechanic Row, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Galveston
#2 Business Hotel in Galveston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is situated in the heart of the Strand Historic District. The Tremont House Hotel Galveston is located near many attractions such as The Bishop's Palace and Texas Seaport Museum. Taxis and Uber offer travelers easy access to Galveston points of interest as well as to the airport. All rooms feature hardwood floors, 32" flat-screen TVs, and free Wi-Fi. Choose from queen or king size beds. Our Galveston hotel provides dinning options that are fresh, distinctive and delicious. On-site is the Tremont Café, which features Starbucks® coffee, pastries, a pizza oven, gourmet sandwiches, salads, soups and desserts. The Café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as provide items for room service. The Tremont House offers its 1888 Toujouse Bar and The Rooftop Bar. Guests will find ample shopping and dining near the Tremont House Hotel Galveston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tremont Hotel
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing