We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful time every time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is our local getaway hotel. We come here for a couples retreat at least once a year. The amenities are amazing and the pool is fantastic. We have never received anything but superior customer service. Our next trip we are booking a suite in the VIP level. Another great thing about the San Luis are the umbrella and chair rentals on the beach. The San Luis is located near great restraunt and their steak house is very nice. Highly recommend. (You get discounts for being a AAA member)

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lalex290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to provide every guest with exceptional service. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,617 - 1,623 of 2,426 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

The room was fantastic, the dining was fantastic, the pool was fantastic, the service was fantastic. It has been a very long time since I have had a vacation with family. Three people stood out that were the keys in making our trip. The cocktail waitress Lacey at the pool was spot on when we needed another drink on a hot humid day. Ashley and Yazzmine had wonderful senses of humor that made spending a couple hundred dollars on souvenirs worth the money. We had our six year old and she was treated like a mini-princess the entire time by the staff. THANK YOU VERY MUCH for making our vacation memorable.

Room Tip: Don't worry about what side the ocean is on, because it appeared to me that all of them faced th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scotty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the San Luis Resort. It is our team's goal to provide exceptional service to every guest. We thank you for your wonderful comments about the resort and our staff. We also thank you for your patronage of the San Luis Resort and we hope that you can make a return visit to Galveston and our resort very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

I loved it. The only complaints I had was the fact is the toilet was leaking and kept filling itself the other complaint I had was that I couldn't turn on the Television. After the first night I called and advised the front desk of the issues and the issued were addressed. I know that things like those happen and they were not a big deal but that was the only issues that held it from being a "5". The staff was very friendly and the restaurant, Grotto, was nice! I do not have any substantial complaints. We will likely come back as a family unit to give them a "second shot" for a "5".

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay but we are sorry about the small inconveniences that you experienced. We thank you for your business and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We went to the San Luis on a Sunday evening (07/13/2014) and stayed through Tuesday. We are between 25-35 years old and It was a mom's and kid's last minute trip. When we arrived, we were greeted and helped immediately with our luggage. When the gentleman found out my name, he immediately knew who we were as my friend had mentioned we would be arriving shortly and took us up to our room. Note, we had lots of baby stuff (including 2 pack and plays) and he was extremely kind. We then took the kids down to the pool and then just relaxed the first evening.

The next morning, we went next door to try and eat at IHOP but there was an hour wait and we had hungry kiddos so we opted to eat at the restaurant in the hotel which had a menu or breakfast buffet. The buffet was delicious!!! They were very accommodating and we never had an empty glass.

Later, we went down to the pool and really enjoyed ourselves. The slide was fun (even for us adults), the pool and the swim up bar. The swim up bar was actually a bit more shaded and had a fan going so we chose to sit there with our little ones (even though it said adults only). I made sure to pay attention to anyone that might be irritated for kids being there but no one had a problem. The bartenders were awesome that day (2 females - Michelle maybe?) and always made sure we had what we needed. They even gave me ice for my little one to nibble on due to the heat. We even ordered lunch from the bar and it was really good! Also, the lounge chairs and staff were awesome. They give you a box for all of your things and are constantly folding towels and picking up after the guests! Huge points for that in my book!! They also had activities for the kiddos and our little ones really enjoyed it. One of them was a hula hoop contest and one of our kiddos won and that was a ton of fun!

CON POOL AREA: The only problem we had with the pool area was the fact that we really wanted to rent a cabana for the little ones (specifically, to take a nap in) but did not need it for the full day as we had other planned activities. There were SEVERAL open but they would not rent one to us for a half-day or by the hour. In my opinion, that was poor customer service as several were open and they could have made some type of profit on them and accommodated us. Note that we probably would not have sat in the bar area that was "for Adults Only" if we had a shaded cabana but bartenders were awesome.

Then later, a few of us went to the beach which is right across the street, while the babies took turns napping and that was nice. The hotel room was more than enough for us. They have a small keurig for coffee, all rooms have a view, beds are very comfy and soft, restrooms were clean. We did need more towels but that was not a problem, we called for some and they were brought up immediately.

CON OF ROOM: The AC is sooooo loud when it kicks on. It would just turn on in the middle of the night for 15-30 seconds then kick off. Then turn on and stay on. I did not sleep very well due to this and it woke my little one a few times.

For dinner, we were exhausted from our day and just wanted to shower and relax so we ordered pizza from Grotto downstairs and ate in the room. We did order some snacks from room service and it was delicious as well. We did sit out on the balcony and saw that next door at the RainForest Cafe area, there was music and line dancing. We definitely want to try that next time, looked like so much fun!

The next morning, my crew had to head out early and Sam Morrill helped us. He was awesome, my friend and her kiddos were still sleeping so he helped get our luggage out and had our car waiting when we got downstairs. We were heading back to Houston and I had to get to work so it was a long trip back. He offered and supplied fresh bottled water for our trip back and was AWESOME!!!

Overall, the trip was EXCELLENT! We are already planning our trip back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny Nguyen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad that you had a great time at the resort. We also thank you for the commendation of our team. As you mentioned, the resort has numerous dining options and amenities. We apologize for your cabana experience and the loud A/C and we will address both issues. Thank you for your business and we hope that you can make a return visit to the San Luis very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The San Luis Resort few weeks ago. We were very happy with accommodations. Nice rooms, helpful staff. Blake's Bistro has wonderful food selection. We ate there few times and loved it each time.There is also I great coffee shop nearby called Cup&Cone. Our server Anna provided a great service and was very nice and pleasant to us. We will definitely be back to see her and rest of the staff at The San Luis Resort.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for your commendation. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed dining in Blake's Bistro. We also thank you for the commendation of our team. Thank you for your business and we hope that you can return to the San Luis Resort very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Hotel is ok. We were looking forward to getting in the Pool, the water was hot and kids everywhere. They had a swim up bar, not so good. waist deep and hot water. The rooms were ok, not great. The Steakhouse is amazing. The food is exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Loric014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for your review and your feedback. We are sorry that you didn't have a perfect stay for us but we are glad that you enjoyed dining in the Steakhouse at the San Luis. We appreciate your business and we hope that you will give us a second chance to provide you with a perfect stay.

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We had such an awesome stay here at the San Luis!!! Definitely recommend it!!! All of the staff were so friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed every minute!! The pool is just amazing. Our kids loved the slide and the waterfall over the hot tub!! Two thumbs up!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Brandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the San Luis Resort and that you enjoyed our pool and waterslide. We also thank you for the commendation of our staff. It is our goal to provide exceptional service to each guest. Thank you for your patronage of the San Luis and we hope that you can visit us again very soon!

Steve Kalbaugh, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#2 of 51 in Galveston
818 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Address: 5222 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#9 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: $209 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing