We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Hotel I've Ever Been To” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The San Luis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The San Luis Resort
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Burbank, California
1 review
“Best Hotel I've Ever Been To”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I found this place while I was searching for a good restaurant in Galveston. What a find! This is an amazing place. All the staff was really friendly. For $270 I got a room on the 10th floor that was great. It had it's own balcony facing the Gulf, a huge TV, a beautiful bathroom, complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. The pool is also amazing. It's huge and has a water slide and Jacuzzi. I was very happy that it open until 2:30am. The swim up bar was pretty cool too. I will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Go with Club 10!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    334
    199
    129
    130
See reviews for
514
584
44
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Really beautiful hotel with great amenities. The staff is excellent and extremely accommodating. The rooms were clean and spacious and the gulf view amazing. There are several excellent restaurants, shops and a spa on the premises. We loved every minute and look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Go for the premium king. It is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Idget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We're glad you enjoyed our restaurants and all of the amenities on property and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I had told not a soul what exact hotel we would be staying in for our honeymoon. We had purchased a lesser room for two nights to have more money to spend while at the resort. During this purchasing process I noted under requests that I wanted rose petals on the bed due to us spending our honeymoon there, so the resort was aware of the reason of our stay. Well, when checking in at the front desk we were told that we would be staying in club 10 and were given special access keys (club 10 is the resorts sort of premier rooms for guests 21 and older and is furnished to the tee with other great, free amenities)! We were just floored by such a selfless act by the resort! Our time there was unbelievable with no complaints to offer. It also must be stated that the bar tender at the H20 bar lounge was phenomenal. Needless to say, we will be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Congratulations on your wedding and we're so happy to now be apart of your new tradition! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you sooner than your 1 year anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I had a quick 2 day stay at the San Louis and it was wonderful. Tons of amenities, Jacuzzi, pool slide, near lots of restaurants and across from the gulf. staff was quite friendly. Newspaper delivered daily. We stayed on the 14th floor which is one below the penthouse, and the views where breath taking. highly recommend staying here again.....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanLuisGM, Manager at The San Luis Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
It's so great to hear when our guests enjoy their stay with us! Thanks for leaving a review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Recently stayed on business with a coworker. We booked a room with two doubles and for whatever reason we were upgraded to a two bedroom condo... it was a pleasant suprise. The room itself was great and the view was awesome plus we loved having our own rooms and bathrooms. Service at the front desk, room service, valet and the new italian restaurant was wonderful! Only negative was tht our suite is in dire need of an update, not sure if that falls on the hotel or a private owner but there needs to be a standard. I would go back with my family!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went here for a work retreat -- really nice experience. Good service in the room and the cafe, and the pool and swim-up bar were a lot of fun. A little heavy on the chlorine, but oh well. Clean, right? The conference area was way too cold, but at least we had our own thermostat and could make our room feel OK.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Gulf, but the top two floors are extra nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thirdsunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a very well run and maintained property. Short wait in line, but it was a large conference. Front Desk at check in and checkout was VERY friendly, efficient and welcoming. Thanks to Darby for her hard work, smile and humor, you made my stay exactly what I would expect.

Room Tip: On busy check-ins, they may upgrade using Condos - depending on occupancy. Great views, balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFrosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.0 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The San Luis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The San Luis Resort

Property: The San Luis Resort
Address: 5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4003
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Business Hotel in Galveston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 Family Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The San Luis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center is one of the Gulf Coast's finest beachfront properties offering a variety of luxury options. From Spa San Luis and the heated pool to its 40,000 sq. Ft. IACC conference center and magnificent gulf views, it's an ideal destination for vacationers, business travel and corporate meetings. Our AAA Four Diamond rated resort offers the finest in award-winning dining, overnight accommodations and first-class personalized and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The San Luis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Luis Resort Galveston Texas
San Luis Hotel Galveston
San Louis Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing